#11  
Old 3rd September 2013, 05:29 PM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

Well, I'm getting a picture in SM64, but I'm still only getting half an image in HM64.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd September 2013, 10:14 PM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Works fine here with Glide64 for PJ64...

Is Buffer Clear on every frame enabled? Issues similar to that may stem from not having this one on, can you check that?

And what is "the latest version of graphic cards drivers"? I'm running 320.49 here, can you confirm to run anything close to that? and they really have to be from nvidias site, if you use the win-provided driver the issue could be pretty much come from there, as their OpenGL support is intentionally bullshit
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd September 2013, 10:19 PM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V1del View Post
Works fine here with Glide64 for PJ64...

Is Buffer Clear on every frame enabled? Issues similar to that may stem from not having this one on, can you check that?

And what is "the latest version of graphic cards drivers"? I'm running 320.49 here, can you confirm to run anything close to that? and they really have to be from nvidias site, if you use the win-provided driver the issue could be pretty much come from there, as their OpenGL support is intentionally bullshit
"Buffer Clear on every frame" is enabled, and I'm actually running newer drivers than you (326.80).

EDIT: So, has everyone just given up, or what?

Last edited by autofire372; 5th September 2013 at 10:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th September 2013, 06:24 PM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

Apologies for the double post, but I have some updates, as well as relevant information I probably should have shared in the first place.

First off, the info I neglected to share earlier: the Linux Mint install I was trying to run PJ64 in was on a laptop with an nVidia GPU, like this one. Does Glide have known issues with nVidia cards?

Secondly, the plugin produces the same graphics errors in PJ64 1.6, so it is definitely something wrong the plugin, not PJ64.

Anyway, until this is fixed, I'm stuck with the 1964 Video plugin, despite the fact that that plugin has sprite layering issues.

Last edited by autofire372; 6th September 2013 at 06:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th September 2013, 07:11 PM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Sry about that forgot about this, no glide64 (OpenGL ultimately) is best supported on nvidias for all that i know (except if you still have a voodoo :P), and I'm using it with great success with nvidia cards.

On to your problem, the fact that you're using the beta driver's may very well be the cause of your problem, as surprising as this may sound, in the mupen64plus thread tony reported having issues using the beta drivers (Check here for reference: http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=3756&page=11 with glide, which could be fixed by downgrading to the release version. So you may be able to try that. Sorry that I can't give you any concrete failsafe info :/
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 8th September 2013, 12:19 AM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

The release driver (320.49) refused to install on my system, falsely claiming that my GTX 765M GPU was not compatible graphics hardware, which is at odds with nVidia's own documentation.

EDIT: Further testing has every other game I have displaying just fine. It is just Harvest Moon 64 that is displaying only the top half of the image in Glide64. Maybe it's a bug in the way that particular game is handled?

Last edited by autofire372; 8th September 2013 at 12:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10th September 2013, 07:23 PM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

Apologies for the double post, but I think I've solved the problem:

It appears to be related to Glide's frame buffer emulation. Enabling it causes graphics to disappear in HM64, and disabling the setting caused everything to appear as it should. I'm guessing HM64 doesn't use the N64's frame buffer, and enabling emulation of such seems to break that game.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th September 2013, 07:01 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

this game already has a glide64 profile, so stop fucking with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by autofire372 View Post
The release driver (320.49) refused to install on my system, falsely claiming that my GTX 765M GPU was not compatible graphics hardware, which is at odds with nVidia's own documentation.
You're an idiot

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...equest-thread/
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20th September 2013, 01:06 AM
tony971 tony971 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V1del View Post
Sry about that forgot about this, no glide64 (OpenGL ultimately) is best supported on nvidias for all that i know (except if you still have a voodoo :P), and I'm using it with great success with nvidia cards.

On to your problem, the fact that you're using the beta driver's may very well be the cause of your problem, as surprising as this may sound, in the mupen64plus thread tony reported having issues using the beta drivers (Check here for reference: http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=3756&page=11 with glide, which could be fixed by downgrading to the release version. So you may be able to try that. Sorry that I can't give you any concrete failsafe info :/
Actually after some more digging, the issue was that VGA/DVI resolutions were being passed through an HDMI cable, causing rendering issues. The beta drivers are fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.