#1  
Old 27th May 2015, 07:48 PM
Dragonrider Dragonrider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Default Directories, mempaks, and nrage

I've run into a very strange error after upgrading from 1.6 to 2.2.03 with mempaks, and I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this one.

Originally (though why I'm no longer sure) I had default saves in one directory and mempaks in a different one.

When I upgraded, I went to see if the old Blast Corps bugs were still there, but it didn't locate the mempak. Not a huge deal, I hadn't aimed nrage at the mempak directory yet. What got strange was that when I finally did get around to aiming nrage at the mempak directory, the game -still- didn't find the mempak even though the nrage config page quite clearly found it and was able to tell me what was in it.

What I discovered that Project64 was doing is that instead of looking in the mempak directory nrage was aiming, it was creating an entirely new mempak just for Blast Corps (Blast Corps_Cont_1.mpk) inside the SAVES directory!

So, not only is it not looking in the directory nrage is aimed at for loading mempaks, it's not even using the same names. Are nrage's settings not being utilized with mempaks anymore?

It didn't look like anyone else had found this bug so far, but does anyone have any suggestions for getting out of it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th May 2015, 07:59 PM
p_025 p_025 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default

If you're using the AQZ netplay plugin it intercepts calls to mempaks, in order to allow only one controller at a time to have a mempak connected, or multiple controllers to use different mempaks.

To restore your save files, you can simply replace the generated "Blast Corps_Cont_1.mpk" file with your prior one. You'll probably have to do this for every game you were using that mempak for, though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th May 2015, 02:19 AM
Dragonrider Dragonrider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Never heard of the AQZ netplay plugin, and given that there's no selectable netplay plugin option inside project64 I'm assuming it's an outside program?

The copy-and-rename trick worked, though I'm still a little confused as to why it was needed in the first place... actually, no, scratch that last part. I can understand why PJ64 might default to mempak operation for all games, since I'm actually hard-pressed to come up with an example of a game where you wouldn't want the mempak to be used if you could use it at all. I am, however, still confused as to why nrage's settings got overridden like that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2015, 04:45 PM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Are you using nrage as it came in 1.6 (Nrage 1.8 iirc) or as it comes in 2.2 (Nrage for PJ64)? if so the reason is quite simple, the nrage plugin has been integrated as the main input plugin since going open source and has had its configuration adjusted so that it uses the same configuration options (naming conventions and directories) as the rest of PJ64. That's why you will see these kinds of changes, because it is utilising the same information that PJ64 core provides·
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th May 2015, 06:42 PM
p_025 p_025 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Huh, I didn't realize that. I've been using the NRage v2.3c plugin, not the NRage for PJ64 plugin. Pointing to a specific mempak will still work with v2.3c.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th May 2015, 08:15 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p_025 View Post
Huh, I didn't realize that. I've been using the NRage v2.3c plugin, not the NRage for PJ64 plugin. Pointing to a specific mempak will still work with v2.3c.
Still works with NRage for PJ64.



Just change the directory under AppPath from Mempaks to Save.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.