#1  
Old 2nd June 2015, 12:26 AM
Riesinger Riesinger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Default Save changes when changing C:/ to E:/

so, first if there is a thread about this please forgive me I'm new to the forum.
my problem is that i have to reinstall my windows and I've installed Pj64 in C:/ where my windows is... i tried to copy paste to E:/ but I get an old save when loading. I only have zelda ocarina of time. I'm always using F5 and F7 to save and load. any ideas? ty

Last edited by Riesinger; 2nd June 2015 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd June 2015, 09:20 PM
p_025 p_025 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default

First of all, it's never a good idea to cut/paste programs that you installed through an installer.

Second, you need to figure out where your old PJ64 install was putting the save state files, which is probably something similar to E:\Program Files(x86)\Project64\Save and then point your new install to that folder. This is done in the directories section of the Settings dialog.

Third, why on Earth are you only using state saves? To each his own, but I only use state saves for things that I can't use native saves for.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd June 2015, 12:39 AM
Riesinger Riesinger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Default

hahahahah I always use the state save and the normal save... xD
Anyway I didn't manage to make it work so I started all over again... And about copy paste installed programs I don't usually do it just thought that PJ64 being so small it wouldn't be a problem... ty for the help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd June 2015, 10:29 PM
Clements's Avatar
Clements Clements is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 21
Default

Everyone learns the hard way that putting useful stuff /data on the same partition as Windows is a bad idea if Windows dies and needs a reinstall for whatever reason. Normally I buy a dedicated SSD for Windows, or create a separate partition for it. Copying PJ64 to another partition is fine, but you need to redo all of the paths to point to the right folders. Otherwise you will run into issues very fast.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.