#1  
Old 19th September 2016, 05:08 PM
millansoft millansoft is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Question Project64 and .7z

Hello,

I noticed that now it appears the .7z extension when I'm going to open a rom, but if try to open a rom compressed with 7z, I got an open error, I need to do something else, like adding some dll to the PJ64 folder?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th September 2016, 05:58 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Was there ever support for .z7 support? Maybe you should open an issue on github.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2016, 06:47 PM
millansoft millansoft is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Default

Hello,

In 2.2 when I try to open a rom file, it appears zip file as option, now appears 7z. Sorry about my english, I don't understand very well the meaning of your answer.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th September 2016, 10:14 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

.z7 support has been in Project64 for a while now.

Best to make a new issue on Github.
https://github.com/project64/project64/issues

It should work. Remember to state what OS you have, XP/7/8/10. PJ64 version, and what you do to cause the error.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th September 2016, 12:19 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Thanks Frank!
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th September 2016, 06:01 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millansoft View Post
Hello,

I noticed that now it appears the .7z extension when I'm going to open a rom, but if try to open a rom compressed with 7z, I got an open error, I need to do something else, like adding some dll to the PJ64 folder?

Thanks
Do you have the .7z file in your ROM folder? If yes, then does it show in your list of ROMS in the ROM browser?

Or, are you using File > Open ROM?

More information needed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th September 2016, 06:41 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 989
Default

there is often multiple files in a .7z file. The rom browser will scan it and let you select the one you want. The open file in theory should scan it if one file run it other wise show a list to select from, but I have never coded that, so it just works with the rom browser
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st September 2016, 12:23 AM
millansoft millansoft is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Default

Hello,

Thanks for the help, I'm using the Open a Rom file (not the rom browser), if try to open a zip file, all is fine, but If I try with the same rom file compressed with 7Zip 16.02, I just got a blank error window.
I tried this in a Windows 7 and Windows 10 machines.

Did you try to open a rom file compressed with 7z? It opens fine or its just me?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st September 2016, 12:40 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

I get the error when using Open ROM on a 7z file. Blank message box, and this in the Project64.log.

Quote:
2016/09/21 13:38:39.290 07028,Error,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,LoadN64Image failed ("C:\Users\Frank\Downloads\Sim City 2000.7z")
2016/09/21 13:38:39.291 07028,Error,User Interface,CNotificationImp:isplayError,
Debug log:
Quote:
2016/09/21 14:05:01.842 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,FileLoc: C:\Users\Frank\Downloads\Sim City 2000.7z
2016/09/21 14:05:01.909 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::CloseSystem,Start
2016/09/21 14:05:01.977 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::CloseSystem,Done
2016/09/21 14:05:02.066 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,Mark Rom as loading
2016/09/21 14:05:02.117 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,Allocating global rom object
2016/09/21 14:05:02.164 07148,Debug,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,Loading "C:\Users\Frank\Downloads\Sim City 2000.7z"
2016/09/21 14:05:02.193 07148,Error,N64 System,CN64System::RunFileImage,LoadN64Image failed ("C:\Users\Frank\Downloads\Sim City 2000.7z")
2016/09/21 14:05:02.215 07148,Error,User Interface,CNotificationImp:isplayError,

Last edited by Frank74; 21st September 2016 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st September 2016, 04:24 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Also if your .7z is password-protected then I doubt that would work, unless Project64 implements a brute-force cracker before ROM load.

Honestly it's just simplest if you forget about compression archives (ZIP, 7Z, RAR, ...) and just keep your ROM browser ROMs uncompressed. It loads faster, (Project64 won't need to decompress it.) it's simpler, it's supported by more emulators not copying zlib code modules, and it's less exposed to complications like archive corruption, passwording or unsupported compressions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.