Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th October 2008, 12:20 AM
xandochu xandochu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Legend of Zelda: Orcarina of Time Crash

Hey, I've been playing a few different ROMS on PJ64, and lately I've been playing Legend of Zelda:OoT, and for some reason it crashes (Blue screen/restart/recent file deletion) right after I beat Phantom Ganon in the forest temple.

I know it's not the ROM, cause I've tried three or four of them. So I'm wondering if it's the Emulator, or just my computer, And if anyone else has had this problem.
  #2  
Old 9th October 2008, 12:39 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Press F5 before the crash and upload the PJ.ZIP file named after the game from PROJEC~1\SAVE to filesend.net.

I'll test it on my system and determine the cause.
  #3  
Old 9th October 2008, 01:11 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

PJ v1.0-v1.6 the self-mod was not 100% solid for Zelda.. you can usually get around the rare crashes by making a native save (in the game menu) and loading (in the game menu). then overwrite your bad state with a new one.

(this should be fixed in 1.7)
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
  #4  
Old 9th October 2008, 01:40 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xandochu View Post
(Blue screen/restart/recent file deletion)
If you are talking about the blue screen of death these are usually caused by drivers. Most likely in this case a video card driver.
  #5  
Old 9th October 2008, 01:44 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Yeah I wasn't used to reading "blue screen"; I'd have thought it useful to see around the exact point it happened if it was consistent. He might have only tested it once then.

I know a while ago I reloaded a save state to fight phantom Ganon several times and never had a crash, so it does seem fixed in Smiff's terms for the beta versions.
  #6  
Old 9th October 2008, 02:08 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

good point, i missed that - "it" is your PC not PJ. then video driver doesn't like something video plugin is doing at this point.. try different video drivers or different video plugin to get around this point.
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
  #7  
Old 9th October 2008, 02:43 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

Could be bad ram as well, since every driver is loaded, executed and modified in memory.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #8  
Old 10th October 2008, 02:08 AM
xandochu xandochu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you everyone.
I figured it might be the computer, and now I know for sure that I need a new video card.

I'mma go bug my parents to take my computer in to get one now~ <3
  #9  
Old 10th October 2008, 04:15 AM
LegendaryLvl1 LegendaryLvl1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I've had the same problem with my oot roms.
My problem was that the rom itself and pj64 vrsion 1.6 couldnt cooperate with my vista home system.

Try installing pj64 and playing the rom on any other computer.

If it works... well then its your computers fault.
  #10  
Old 10th October 2008, 05:19 PM
chriztr chriztr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 25
Default

I don't have any problem with PJ64 1.6 on Vista.
Read your BSoD and solve your problem from there
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.