Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd April 2015, 06:24 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGMaster View Post
Fair enough. It's much easier to emulate something when you have the source code though. Even good documentation makes things waaaay easier.
And Nintendo would have access to that documentation, I think lol.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd April 2015, 07:56 AM
Reggie's Avatar
Reggie Reggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Oh my God... Is this true? Finally, after years of long waiting...

Can I play DK 64 in great style. I was always hoping that some emulator emulate this game perfectly, but none did. Finally Nintendo itself managed that.

Thank you Nintendo, thanks Wii U Virtual Console. I love you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd April 2015, 02:07 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCz1JzqtPi0
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd April 2015, 05:16 PM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGMaster View Post
Anyway, ya it looks like my suspicions were semi-correct. The timing is indeed off in that wii-u video, but also the N64 (assuming youtube didn't significantly mess up the timing) does not perfectly sync the words to the song. All the "troublesome" parts of the song (during my audio testing) just happen to be that way on the real N64, so what a relief .

So much for Nintendo properly emulating DK64 .
Well to be fair, I watched the Wii U version video again and you're right, it slightly desyncs when the song reaches Chunky Kong's part...

Also the audio is pretty horrible yeah, it doesn't seem to be using ANY type of filtering (not even linear filtering? c'mon ninty!)

But now I loaded DK64 again in Project64 2.2.0.3 RC1, I see it gets the timing pretty damn close using the default settings; the video is just a liiittle ahead of the audio, which may be caused by a big audio buffer in Jabo's Audio plugin. Now if there was some way to edit the buffer length...

(also is anyone having trouble loading ROMs? my DK64 ROM took like, 3 minutes to load while having high CPU usage of the WmiPrvSE.exe process. I don't remember that happening in 2.2.0.2 though, so I might open a bug report about that on Github)

Last edited by oddMLan; 3rd April 2015 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd April 2015, 06:24 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
Well to be fair, I watched the Wii U version video again and you're right, it slightly desyncs when the song reaches Chunky Kong's part...

Also the audio is pretty horrible yeah, it doesn't seem to be using ANY type of filtering (not even linear filtering? c'mon ninty!)

But now I loaded DK64 again in Project64 2.2.0.3 RC1, I see it gets the timing pretty damn close using the default settings; the video is just a liiittle ahead of the audio, which may be caused by a big audio buffer in Jabo's Audio plugin. Now if there was some way to edit the buffer length...

(also is anyone having trouble loading ROMs? my DK64 ROM took like, 3 minutes to load while having high CPU usage of the WmiPrvSE.exe process. I don't remember that happening in 2.2.0.2 though, so I might open a bug report about that on Github)
Actually, it's the video at fault, Super Mario 64 sounds the same on YT but in real life, it sounds just fine, it's just a weird audio compression codec they used when capturing the video.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 3rd April 2015, 07:20 PM
N64man N64man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpmHalwspfE
From hardware Nintendo 64.
But I dont know how audio and video synced.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 4th April 2015, 02:40 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
(also is anyone having trouble loading ROMs? my DK64 ROM took like, 3 minutes to load while having high CPU usage of the WmiPrvSE.exe process. I don't remember that happening in 2.2.0.2 though, so I might open a bug report about that on Github)
I don't have that issue. Are you sure it's not just some 1 time thing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
Well to be fair, I watched the Wii U version video again and you're right, it slightly desyncs when the song reaches Chunky Kong's part...

Also the audio is pretty horrible yeah, it doesn't seem to be using ANY type of filtering (not even linear filtering? c'mon ninty!)

But now I loaded DK64 again in Project64 2.2.0.3 RC1, I see it gets the timing pretty damn close using the default settings; the video is just a liiittle ahead of the audio, which may be caused by a big audio buffer in Jabo's Audio plugin. Now if there was some way to edit the buffer length...
I believe part of the problem for timing is the video plugin. I get noticeably better timing for DK rap with Pixel Accurate plugin than I do with any HW plugin.

I believe it's possible to adjust the buffers in Jabo's audio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabo View Post
here is some hidden settings that can fix and diagnose problems in Project64.cfg

[DSound]
SoftwareBuffer=0 or 1 (default = 1)
BufferSize=-10 to 10 (default = 0)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.