Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Old 27th August 2011, 05:54 PM
Project Supporter

Question Has Project 64 been abandoned?

Hello,

First of all, an apology for what must be an irritating thread topic to long-time Project64 forum users. I realize that this question has been asked before, but the askers were generally quite rude, and (justifiably) never got a straight answer on the subject.

I am new to Project64, and have found navigating through the site to be a little daunting. Though there is lots of activity on the forums, other areas of the site are not exactly forthcoming with information to newcomers. It is hard to tell whether the developers are just really busy with their personal lives (which is great!), or if the project has actually been abandoned for good.

I was quite delighted when I stumbled across Project64, and have really enjoyed using the emulator these past couple of days. I would be more than happy to give the $20 donation to help continue development of version 1.7, but if the project is already dead, I think it's understandable that I would not want to throw the money away. I completely understand that the developers have their own lives to lead, and that something like Project64 does not happen overnight, but it would be great to have a little reassurance that 1.7 could one day see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Thanks a lot,
tree_frog
Old 27th August 2011, 09:03 PM

It's hard to tell, actually. The developers are very rarely, if ever, here. Project 64 1.7 has been in development for many years and even though they have their own lives, I think we are entitled to at least get to know whether the project is forthcoming or if it is halted.

Surely they cannot be so busy that they are ineligible to get online for a few minutes to say: "yes, we are working on it everyday" or "I'm sorry, we aren't working on it as much as we used to"