#1  
Old 31st March 2009, 02:43 AM
msw msw is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default members only error

I donated a while back for beta access, and have been using pj64 1.7 for a while. Today I tried to play a game, and got the "members only" message. What can I do?

EDIT: I hope I put this in the right place. Some possibly relevant information: I am stuck back on 1.7.0.45 at home, but today I downloaded the most recent release onto my office PC today to edit some cheats during my free time. Could this error be caused by the fact that I downloaded a beta to my office PC and have one on my home PC? My office PC is always connected to the internet.

EDIT 2: I have posted on here before, but I guess the forums got reset/updated since then. So my post count of 1 should be more like 15-20, not that I really care. (In other words, I've tried to contribute before, so please don't think I've only ever been on here to complain).

Last edited by msw; 31st March 2009 at 02:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st March 2009, 03:27 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

This is known to happen with some network configurations, and often times changing the beta build of Project64 supports such.

In the meantime try logging what happens with Project64 into text output, and send the output file Project64.log to zilmar. Try uploading the file through http://www.filesend.net. This information is important to solve this very big problem so that development can continue safely, so your co-operation is very useful.

You can create file Project64.log with maximal detail through the following procedure.
  1. From menu "Options" choose "Settings...".
  2. Check the "Options" tab. Upon initialization of this configuration setting "Hide Advanced Settings" must have not been enabled.
  3. Check the "Advanced" tab. Enable setting "Enable Debugger" if necessary.
  4. Apply changes.
  5. Check the "Debugger" menu in Project64's menu design. The "App Logging" sub-menu offers control of what is sent to the file Project64.log. Make sure at least logging of error messages is set.
Posts made by users who were logged in at time of posting under beta support account credentials were identified successfully in the conversion process of posts, but posts made under a custom user name (where the field for entering this would have been automatically filled if you were logged in) were assigned to the new Anonymous account created in this forum system.

Last edited by HatCat; 31st March 2009 at 03:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2009, 09:27 PM
msw msw is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
This is known to happen with some network configurations, and often times changing the beta build of Project64 supports such.

In the meantime try logging what happens with Project64 into text output, and send the output file Project64.log to zilmar. Try uploading the file through http://www.filesend.net. This information is important to solve this very big problem so that development can continue safely, so your co-operation is very useful.

You can create file Project64.log with maximal detail through the following procedure.
  1. From menu "Options" choose "Settings...".
  2. Check the "Options" tab. Upon initialization of this configuration setting "Hide Advanced Settings" must have not been enabled.
  3. Check the "Advanced" tab. Enable setting "Enable Debugger" if necessary.
  4. Apply changes.
  5. Check the "Debugger" menu in Project64's menu design. The "App Logging" sub-menu offers control of what is sent to the file Project64.log. Make sure at least logging of error messages is set.
Posts made by users who were logged in at time of posting under beta support account credentials were identified successfully in the conversion process of posts, but posts made under a custom user name (where the field for entering this would have been automatically filled if you were logged in) were assigned to the new Anonymous account created in this forum system.

I tried to do that, but before I even get a chance to use the menu to make it generate a log, I get the error message and I can no longer use the application. If I don't click "ok" on the error message, it won't let me click on the pj64 window. If I click "OK", it forces pj64 to close.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st April 2009, 01:03 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

There is a way to enable logging by default, but right now this is not apt. In the mean time here is something you can try.

Try testing beta 37 or later. Different beta versions will often handle your network setup differently, but some may randomly give the not for members error at some undefined point.

Last edited by HatCat; 1st April 2009 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st April 2009, 07:38 PM
msw msw is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I downloaded the latest beta on my home PC and I'm not getting the error message any more. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.