Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd April 2010, 06:22 PM
an74 an74 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Problems w/ Rumble for Dualshock 3 using MotioninJoy

Hi everyone.

Just had a quick question, which doesn't seem to have been asked in the forums yet, my search skills notwithstanding.

So I'm trying to use a Dualshock 3 (PS3) controller, connected to my PC via USB, in p64 v1.6. I'm using MotioninJoy, and I can set up my PC to recognize my DS3 controller. In other words, everything works fine within Motioninjoy, all the buttons and vibration are registering.

Unfortunately, while I can get p64 v1.6 to recognize the analog sticks and face/shoulder buttons of the DS3, I cannot seem to get the rumble feature to work.

DS3 Tool Version: 0.4.0003
Driver Version: 04.0002

Project 64 v1.6 info:
On my Controller Pak tab:
The Raw Data box is checked.
Rumble Pak is selected from the dropdown menu.
"MotioninJoy Virtual Game Controller" is selected from the "Force-Feedback Device" dropdown menu.
"Constant Force" is selected, with a Rumble Strength of 80%.

Input (controller) plugin:
N-Rage's Direct-Input8 V2 2.2 beta

However, when I press the "Test Rumble" button, I get a message from Windows saying that "Project64.exe has stopped working."

Here're the problem details:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Project64.exe
Application Version:
Application Timestamp: 424c7e6e
Fault Module Name: NRage_Input_V2.dll
Fault Module Version:
Fault Module Timestamp: 4b978405
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000f101
OS Version: 6.0.6001.
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 76b4
Additional Information 2: 3a67093419e37f60f3f6efab11f82ec1
Additional Information 3: 498e
Additional Information 4: 2d826c21fb7096dd46a827b2d60ad290

I know this is a lot for a post, but I'd be very grateful for any help in getting rumble to work with my DS3 in Project64.
And of course, huge thank you to the Project64 team! Being able to save at any time is a godsend, not to mention the ability to play old classics on my PC.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited by an74; 23rd April 2010 at 10:09 PM.
Old 24th April 2010, 02:01 AM
rimsky82 rimsky82 is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11

c0000005 is usually a memory access violation, try running as administrator. I'd be surprised if you didn't already try that.
Old 24th April 2010, 02:13 AM
an74 an74 is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2

Nope, just tried running both Motioninjoy and Project64 by right-clicking and choosing "run as administrator," but getting the same error message.
Old 24th April 2010, 05:21 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,896

the error occurs because the Rumble driver is missing runtime apparently.
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1

ds3, dualshock 3, motion in joy, motioninjoy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.