Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th May 2015, 10:22 PM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default I upgraded to Windows 10 and all Direct3D plugins don't work

So, I upgraded to Windows 10... I noticed that all the Direct3D plugins won't work or have issues!! Even Glide and Rice have problems!! None of the few working plugins work Full Screen, it says "ChangeWindow Exception" or "Exception occurred trying to change window"!! I suspect DirectX12 to be the cause, and if it is, that means Project64 won't work on future versions of Windows, which is TERRIBLE. Could you PLEASE have a look at this problem and fix it, I NEED PJ64 to make SM64 Machinimas!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th May 2015, 12:26 AM
MELERIX's Avatar
MELERIX MELERIX is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chile
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnigmaJetMoto View Post
So, I upgraded to Windows 10... I noticed that all the Direct3D plugins won't work or have issues!! Even Glide and Rice have problems!! None of the few working plugins work Full Screen, it says "ChangeWindow Exception" or "Exception occurred trying to change window"!! I suspect DirectX12 to be the cause, and if it is, that means Project64 won't work on future versions of Windows, which is TERRIBLE. Could you PLEASE have a look at this problem and fix it, I NEED PJ64 to make SM64 Machinimas!
the cause for sure is in your video drivers, make sure that are properly installed and updated.

and also update DX libs using this:
Code:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2015, 01:00 AM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Well, no, that's not it! I downloaded the latest drivers for my graphics card, the same I had before the OS upgrade! I also downloaded the DX libs and it still isn't working! What the hell?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2015, 01:52 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,522
Default

Beta software is bad mk?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2015, 02:28 AM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
Beta software is bad mk?
Yeah, but it shouldn't do that, the thing is, DX12 isn't in Beta, it's done! That means PJ64 is the problem here, not my drivers of OS! What that means is, if PJ64 doesn't update to support DX12, every single computer that uses Windows 10 or above won't be able to run PJ64!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th May 2015, 03:28 AM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Ok, so I figured out how to make the plugin work, but it still doesn't work in full screen. Whenever I go full screen, the game crashes and it an error message appears : "Exception occurred trying to change window"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th May 2015, 03:39 AM
MELERIX's Avatar
MELERIX MELERIX is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chile
Posts: 34
Default

what version of PJ64 are you using and from where was downloaded ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th May 2015, 04:35 AM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Project64 2.0, I downloaded it from here. I also tried 2.1 and 2.2, no more luck there.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th May 2015, 04:51 AM
MELERIX's Avatar
MELERIX MELERIX is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chile
Posts: 34
Default

I have PJ64 2.2.0.3 and Windows 10 Build 10074 and is working fine.

may be you have cache files damaged ?

check in the PJ64 /config/ folder and delete the .cache files.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th May 2015, 04:58 AM
EnigmaJetMoto EnigmaJetMoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

Nope, I did this and it still crashes! :/ I even did a clean re-install! That's really weird. And I know it's not my drivers because they work just fine on everything and they DO work in PJ64, it just crashes when I go full screen!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.