Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Cheats

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #451  
Old 11th January 2016, 11:41 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Great Stuff!!

this is making the game very playable with AL and scanlines.

How does the code work?

I also noticed that the game gets stuck on a black screen for some time before the game will start.. even with the options you mentioned.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #452  
Old 12th January 2016, 10:47 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

This is a new error to me,I wrote F5 to 0x800014D5 in DK64 and this appeared after backflipping...

Error

"I need to add more code in GenerateSectionLinkage cause this is going to cause an exception."
Reply With Quote
  #453  
Old 13th January 2016, 12:37 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Hmm. Maybe zilmar can share his thoughts. As it did cause an error. What where you trying to change with the cheat code? Memory pak?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #454  
Old 13th January 2016, 12:43 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

Just doing my usual random value changes until something interesting happens.

I don't think I can make it work without the expansion pak because it still has 804F and 805F referenced in RDRAM with 4MB mode.
Reply With Quote
  #455  
Old 13th January 2016, 01:01 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Hmmm.

I guess the infamous story about how it was rushed to market with the error doesn't full add up. I would think that they would of patched it quickly not worked it around fully.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #456  
Old 13th January 2016, 02:50 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

Don't forget all of the time spent testing "stop and swop" (which all went to waste from the faster N64 memory clearing on new console models) also largely involved DK64.

Edit: Finally! Some fun codes are coming out of this.

Donkey Kong 64 (U)

Glitched Wall Textures
80001BE3 00C4
Only works on some walls.

Some Missing Textures
80001BE7 0004
Parts of walls are green and lack textures.

More Glitched Wall Textures
80001BEF 0004

Some Blue Walls
80001BF3 0000

Cool Walls
80001BF9 008B

Black Walls
80001C09 0074
Some parts are glitched.

Messy Glitched Walls
80001C0F 0004

Later past 0x80001E00 address.

Last edited by retroben; 13th January 2016 at 04:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #457  
Old 13th January 2016, 10:47 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

Another Glitch Walls
800023B8 0024
So many breakpoints before this code.

Aaaaa
80002ECF 0008
Crashes on DK Rap unless skipped immediately,text explains codename.

Funny Text
80002EE3 00FB
Watch the DK Rap since it does not crash this time.

Funnier Text
80002EF3 0000
Sometimes has button icons mixed in.

Massive Earthquake
800030C7 0004
Enter then exit the main isles to make hilarious things happen,but don't press Z. (savestate at DK Isles recommended)

Later past 0x80003500 address.

Last edited by retroben; 14th January 2016 at 04:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #458  
Old 14th January 2016, 01:28 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Okay,this game runs similar to Super Smash Bros. in terms of 60fps,but goes over 60DL/s normally,so it has an unlimited framerate like you would see in GTA3.

The lag fix address seems to be helpful when on Counter Factor 1.
All non-GLideN64 plugins have visual issues,and the code makes the HUD go invisible most often on those plugins,not sure how GLideN64 does.

Vigilante 8 (U)

Slow Fix
811886D2 00AD
May drop frames or get choppy.

Edit: Oh,and you need to uncheck "fixed audio timing" or the music stutters and loading is slower.
Thanks for posting this code. It makes the game almost playable for me. Can you find a code like that for KNife Edge. it's actually too fast and I want to slow it down.

Also can you explain how you originally found the cheat and what it does exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #459  
Old 14th January 2016, 05:12 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

I originally found it by my usual code hunts with a pattern of 020D and 020C in Conker's Bad Fur Day.

It works just like using a higher VI Refresh Rate setting or like overclocking in a way.

The easiest way to find it for ANY game is to search in 32bits for 0x0000020D and test each result by changing them from 020D to 002D then checking how the game runs until it reacts.
Some games use 020C instead so if none work on 020D,try searching 020C instead.

The resulting code is mostly in the x0 position at the x2 slot while some games like Super Smash Bros. have it in the x8 postion at the xA slot.
Other games may have an extra address location away from the normal place.

Castlevania 64 is one example of a game using 020C instead.
Reply With Quote
  #460  
Old 15th January 2016, 01:50 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 677
Default

Broken Graphics
80005D94 0024
Everything looks crazy,warning:may cause seizures.

Broken Missing Stuff (D-pad up/down=on/off)
D0014DC4 0008
80005DA0 00E7
D0014DC4 0004
80005DA0 00C7
Warp pads,trees,and level doors are missing,turn it off to enter levels then back on for more fun.
Interaction stays broken for the area duration when trees are visible again.

Underworld
80005DAC 00C4
Enter Jungle Japes and carefully walk into the inside of the hole past the first cave to fall below the level where trees and objects hide.

Invisible Stuff
80005DE0 0024
Many objects are invisible while still working,trees are harder to start climbing on.

Wideload Screen Mode
80005E2F 0040
3C=Default

Broken Priority Graphics
80005E88 00E7
Everything can be seen through.

Particle Polygons
80005F18 00E4
Really cool looking.

Underside Camera (D-pad left/right=on/off)
D0014DC4 0002
800061B8 00E7
D0014DC4 0001
800061B8 00C7
Yes under your kong.

Upside Down Inverted Graphics
8000630C 0066
Creepy kongs.

Low Model Lighting
800063D0 0066
Less shine,looks kinda cel-shaded.

No Model Lighting
800064C3 0000
Similar to the previous one.

Later past 0x80006500 address.

Last edited by retroben; 15th January 2016 at 04:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.