#11  
Old 11th June 2009, 09:09 AM
jmf145 jmf145 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
no it won't. DPL mixing only supports DPL, the device must support mixing for dolby surround, otherwise its just stereo.

And again I point to the quote from Dolby:
Dolby® Surround is the consumer version of the original Dolby multichannel analog film sound format (Dolby analog and Dolby SR [Spectral Recording]). When a Dolby Surround soundtrack is produced, four channels of audio information—Left, Center, Right, and Mono surround—are matrix-encoded onto two audio tracks. These two tracks are then carried on stereo program sources such as videotapes and TV broadcasts into the home, where they can be decoded by Dolby Pro Logic® to recreate the original four-channel surround sound experience.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th June 2009, 06:06 AM
wuhlei wuhlei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

so the n64 supports dobly and dobly is 4 channels but the emulator doesn't support it correct?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th June 2009, 06:20 AM
jmf145 jmf145 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuhlei View Post
so the n64 supports dobly and dobly is 4 channels but the emulator doesn't support it correct?
I think the emulator supports it, since tests on my home 5.1 system seem to work. I remember a thread on Emutalk about this, but I can't find it because the website is down.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th June 2009, 06:29 AM
wuhlei wuhlei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

cool I have a sound blaster and 5.1 speakers how do I set this up?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th June 2009, 08:17 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

the soundblaster automatically forces CMSS, its only on newer models where there are actual options for it.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12th June 2009, 08:17 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmf145 View Post
I think the emulator supports it, since tests on my home 5.1 system seem to work. I remember a thread on Emutalk about this, but I can't find it because the website is down.
nope, you need to be using a plugin which uses hardware mixing.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16th June 2009, 01:34 PM
Stewie Stewie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 37
Default

Most N64 games do have Surround Sound in their option menu, i am not sure if the sound plugin take advantage of this.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16th June 2009, 02:26 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

Dsound 1.6, no
Dsound 1.7, possible.

Azimer audio is the other one that can.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17th June 2009, 03:31 PM
jmf145 jmf145 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
Dsound 1.6, no
Dsound 1.7, possible.

Azimer audio is the other one that can.
Because the RSP plugin provides a low level emulated audio output, shouldn't the audio output be exactly like an N64?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17th June 2009, 05:12 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

the rsp might, but the sound plugin doesn't, software mixing does not incorporate the required audio stream.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.