Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Site News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd April 2007, 05:57 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default Castlevania 2 ?Legacy of Darkness

I re-wrote a lot of the internal handling of compiled code a few builds ago. This is one of the few games that came off worse for wear for it. I was debugging in to it today to see if I could understand what was going on with the game and why it behaved worse.
I have worked out why the game is worse off. Where in 1.6 I could use protected memory and the game worked great. I currently have to turn on other self modification methods that slow the game down significantly. What the game is doing is it has 3 buffers with code in memory and one virtual address pointing to these code blocks. It constantly is changing the buffer that it points to, so turning on self mod methods detects this change and constantly recompiles these buffers.
What broke it in latter beta builds is that I found the virtual address and said this code already existed and replaced it with the old one. So it had both virtual locations pointing to the same physical location. I had built the original solution on how games like golden eye and conkers bad fur day used the TLB. I am going to re-write some of the function lookup to make use of Physical address as well as virtual address. I hope I should be able to fix this problem in the next beta build.
Read here to get access to the beta development of pj64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd April 2007, 05:57 AM
mudlord mudlord is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 87
Default

Thats a pretty nice fix .

Any luck btw with the bug I described a few months ago (with the "weird" error, and what other people have encountered with the emulator core)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd April 2007, 05:57 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

Which bug in particular, maybe bump it up the beta forum so I remember.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd April 2007, 05:57 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

great, i'm getting news from the blog now!
that makes perfect sense, and why the game needs TLB unmapping? AFAIK only the two Castlevanias affected.
(i think this should be in Developer Diaries btw )
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd April 2007, 05:57 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

have you tried the other Castlevania ?
um, i hope this won't be another control - or a hack?

edit: the caching sometimes makes an old version of your post show after editing. spooky
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd April 2007, 03:32 PM
mudlord mudlord is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Which bug in particular, maybe bump it up the beta forum so I remember.
The weird "failed to allocate memory" bug. In the thread I made about it, it appears another user experiences the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd April 2007, 03:37 PM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

woah. leading on from this zilmar seems to have just a made a performance breakthrough - which imho we needed - core should be 50% faster (!) for the next build (due sometime next week?), applies to many of the difficult rare games.. maybe he'll post about this too (it lead on from this issue).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd April 2007, 03:45 PM
mudlord mudlord is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
heh, zilmar's just made the core 50% faster than it was for many of the more difficult games.. maybe he'll post about this too (lead on from this issue).
Wow! Thats excellent! ;D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd April 2007, 03:56 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

probaly about 3 games only :P

and still need to confirm it on other peoples PC's
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd April 2007, 04:24 PM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

right but those games are AA titles (Goldeneye, Conker, PD? etc..) and currently the games most in need of a speedup.. then that's pretty bloody good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
developer diaries
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.