Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th October 2008, 07:00 AM
stormchasingk9 stormchasingk9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Graphical errors with Beetle Adventure Racing



Is there any way I can edit the settings to make the game appear correctly? Some menus will be effected, some won't. The only track I can play is Inferno Isle.

Sorry for bothering, if this has been brought up before. I used the search feature but couldn't find any information, besides BAR no longer working with V1.7.
  #2  
Old 13th October 2008, 08:48 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

use Glide64, if it doesn't show it properly, no plugin will.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #3  
Old 13th October 2008, 01:48 PM
stormchasingk9 stormchasingk9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, that did the trick.
  #4  
Old 14th October 2008, 12:20 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Actually Glide64 misses certain menu textures which can be seen with other plugins. In addition my INI sets the game playing fastest with Rice's plugin and with no known issues I've found.

You are probably bearing in mind that Glide64 is most likely to display objects and geometry, but with complex textures (plus hacks) Rice's plugin has done everything the others have plus more.
  #5  
Old 14th October 2008, 07:15 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

Rice fails on a number of effects.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #6  
Old 14th October 2008, 11:34 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

He cared about low-end system support. Even though newer coders like KoolSmoky didn't have Rice's knowledge they developed graphics emulation engine parts in accordance to today's technology.

Rice also by contrast wasn't knowledgable in methods of completing support for things like depth buffer and LOD for emulation, but this plugin has done a lot that others have not for some games. My testing statistics using every plugin suggest this plugin ranks third, so if you would criticize it you're only saying one graphics plugin (maybe the second-ranking one as well) should be used for all games.

Whatever the case this game isn't one of them :P (Rice's wins here), so this is spam about external plugin wars.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.