Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Site News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 27th July 2017, 02:44 AM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
GLideN64 doesn't use the Glide API at all, in any shape or form. The actual reason it is 10MB is because of Qt, which is a very bloated GUI library. Compile the plugin without GUI and it's just 1.5MB
GlideN64 wraps Voodoo3 functions (Glide3x) to OpenGL. It even says so in the mission statement on Indiegogo

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/g...phics-plugin#/

As for the "Bloated" GUI, it is far better to have everything self contained than it is to make users install all the required components of the GUI themselves. That and it makes it more compatible with the MupenPlus core for RetroArch. I do agree with zilmar that it is a tad bloated as a plugin, but as far as being able to be used in RetroArch, IMHO it is a fair price to pay for being cross platform between Mupen and Zilmar spec plugins.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx

Last edited by Wally123; 27th July 2017 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 27th July 2017, 02:55 AM
loganmc10 loganmc10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
GlideN64 wraps Voodoo3 functions (Glide3x) to OpenGL. It even says so in the mission statement on Indiegogo
No, it says that Glide64 used Glide3x. Trust me, GLideN64 doesn't wrap any functions, it is written directly in OpenGL.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 14th August 2017, 04:53 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

Qt in and of its self runs OpenGL, so keeping the render API GLIDE instead of GL would be dumb as hell if you're depending on Qt already.

Similarly, Qt libraries are all heavily designed in C++, so why even bother coding in C on top of colossal dependencies.

All the fancy alpha-transparent windows and objects blending in KDE is Qt using the graphics card through OpenGL. Interesting, but it's all done in C++ with a ton of console warning messages and much higher memory usage and latency. I think just GTK (under Xfce or maybe GNOME) is still not as lightweight as I like to go but still way simpler with more than a sufficient amount of modern desktop design concepts for my purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 15th August 2017, 12:33 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,345
Default

It's alive
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.