#1  
Old 27th June 2017, 07:01 PM
KayJay KayJay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default Massive Stuttering

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDmZ...ature=youtu.be

The emulator tells me that its around 60 FPS while it stutters like 40fps in both Glide64 and Jabo's Direct3D Plugin. Happens in every game.

I'm out of ideas since I tried everything I could think of, (various compatibility modes, Nvidia control panel options, plugin options).

I think this issue started since my rig is on Windows 10 but it's been a long time so I'm not quite sure.

Specs:

OS: Windows 10

CPU: Intel Core i7 - 4790k, 4.60GHz OC

GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970

RAM: 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th June 2017, 02:37 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

Most likely the common Windows DWM issue/s or Desktop Composition (no longer possible to disable due to being removed from the list of advanced performance options) which got worse with Windows 10.
There is supposedly one risky solution involving completely disabling the problem-causing setting which requires you to remove the password from your computer since it uses the visual effects as well.

What kind of monitor do you have and what is its refresh rate?
I would suggest looking into a 120Hz monitor to make things smoother if you can afford one. (I wish I had one myself)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th June 2017, 03:21 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

I added a hidden setting to combat this problem which I had on Windows 8.1.

Open Project64\Config\Project64.cfg with notepad.

Under the [default] section, add CN64TimeCritical=1.

Save changes and restart Project64.

Does it help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th June 2017, 05:16 PM
KayJay KayJay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
What kind of monitor do you have and what is its refresh rate?
I would suggest looking into a 120Hz monitor to make things smoother if you can afford one. (I wish I had one myself)
Samsung SyncMaster S27B550V
1080p @60Hz


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
I added a hidden setting to combat this problem which I had on Windows 8.1.

Open Project64\Config\Project64.cfg with notepad.

Under the [default] section, add CN64TimeCritical=1.

Save changes and restart Project64.

Does it help?
Tried it, it didn't help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th June 2017, 06:29 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

To add from earlier,there is also 144Hz monitors too,but I don't know if those work even better.

I wonder,does your monitor have settings for changing more than brightness,contrast,and colors?
If it happens to have such an extra setting like frame smoothing or something similar,you may be able to work around the problem with it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th June 2017, 03:10 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

What I have been doing is setting up vsync for the video plugin then turning off frame limit.

This makes things silky smooth

__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th July 2017, 03:22 AM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KayJay View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDmZ...ature=youtu.be

The emulator tells me that its around 60 FPS while it stutters like 40fps in both Glide64 and Jabo's Direct3D Plugin. Happens in every game.

I'm out of ideas since I tried everything I could think of, (various compatibility modes, Nvidia control panel options, plugin options).

I think this issue started since my rig is on Windows 10 but it's been a long time so I'm not quite sure.

Specs:

OS: Windows 10

CPU: Intel Core i7 - 4790k, 4.60GHz OC

GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970

RAM: 16GB
The game's count factor needs to be set to 1...right-click on the game, select "Edit Game Settings" to access those options. Also, one thing I have been actively doing is setting all the games to 8 Megabytes in memory size.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th July 2017, 12:41 AM
KayJay KayJay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
The game's count factor needs to be set to 1...right-click on the game, select "Edit Game Settings" to access those options. Also, one thing I have been actively doing is setting all the games to 8 Megabytes in memory size.
Read my post above yours.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.