Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th July 2017, 06:49 PM
TrulyVisceral TrulyVisceral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: The Nth dimension
Posts: 5
Default Direct3D8 error with some game effects (PJ64 2.3.2.202)

The error shows the following:

Direct3D8
While processing graphics data an exception ocurred
you may need to restart the emulator

This only happens with the Jabo plugin. I've checked with some games I've got and realized the error happens at the following:

Banjo-Kazooie: At the credits when Mumbo shows the secret scenes upon collecting all 100 jiggies

Blast-corps: When using the vehicles Backlash and thunderfist (when the after images start showing)

Legend of zelda OOT and MM: In OOT when using any of the goddesses powers, with MM when first entering the spinning tunnel into termina as Deku link.

It seems that the error happens with anything that creates after-images (as with Blast-corps, OOT and MM) or a moving image on top of anything (as with the case of Banjo). I don't know how to fix it, and using Glide just lags the game to hell and back, sometimes the screen just goes black with some sound every second or so, as if everything went to 1fps.

I tried checking for solutions but everything is for REALLY old versions of the plugins/emulator.
__________________
Mountains to climb, ruins to raid, tombs to explore... and I'm sitting here, playing videogames.

Last edited by TrulyVisceral; 20th July 2017 at 07:15 PM. Reason: discovered another cause.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st July 2017, 11:24 PM
TrulyVisceral TrulyVisceral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: The Nth dimension
Posts: 5
Default

I love it when my posts are ignored
__________________
Mountains to climb, ruins to raid, tombs to explore... and I'm sitting here, playing videogames.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2017, 02:43 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

yeah... this is because of unfixed frame buffer issues....


just use an actually supported plugin.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2017, 05:07 PM
TrulyVisceral TrulyVisceral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: The Nth dimension
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
just use an actually supported plugin.
Like?
Glide won't work, black screen and laggy sound.
Rice crashes, no matter what I change in settings.
And Jabo is the one giving me the errors mentioned in the post.

The other 3 I know of, z64gl does the same as Glide, Shunyuan and HatCat does the same as Rice... what do?

Also, I tried using older versions of PJ64, like the good old 1.6 but... well... My luck is awful.
__________________
Mountains to climb, ruins to raid, tombs to explore... and I'm sitting here, playing videogames.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd July 2017, 06:45 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

What are your system specs?

No reason why PJGlide64 shouldn't work. You might need to use different drivers.

Or if your PC is 10+ years old, you could try Jabo's 1.6.1 plugins. They're newer than the 1.7 version in Project64. Many framebuffer effects are fixed.
Get it here: http://www.jabosoft.com/articles/114

Download the Project64 1.6.1 Update ZIP file and extract it to your Project64\Plugin folder.

Fixed in D3D 1.6.1 (from 1.7):
Quote:
Direct3D8 Graphics Plugin:

bugfix: fixed a problem where the plugin could crash if it ran out of video memory
bugfix: fixed microcodes for Blast Corps, Body Harvest, O.D.T. (Or Die Trying), and Asteroids
1080 Snowboarding: fixed europe region effects
40 Winks: fixed strange texturing issue
Bakuretsu Muteki Bangaioh: sprite edges should look correct
Banjo-Tooie: fixed puzzle rendering and other regions
Cruisin USA: brake lights work
Dragon Sword: menu text drawing and scaling fixed
Dr. Mario: fixed background in versus mode
F-Zero X: fixed potential triangle overflow issue
GoldenEye 007: fixed calculations of sky triangles
Lego Racers: fixed players going out of sight
Mario Kart: fixed whomps in bowser castle
Mario Kart: racetrack frame buffer support
Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time: end of game subscreen issues
Paperboy: fixed map drawing in game
Perfect Dark: fixed scanners
Disney's Tarzan: fixed butterfly and health meter
Vigilante 8: fixed some textures
Legend of Zelda Majora's Mask: fixed day transition borders and lens of truth in snow areas
Edit: Forgot to say, you need to copy Project64\Config\Project64.rdb to Project64.exe folder before running 1.6.1 D3D plugin.

Last edited by Frank74; 22nd July 2017 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th July 2017, 02:46 AM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrulyVisceral View Post
Like?
Glide won't work, black screen and laggy sound.
Rice crashes, no matter what I change in settings.
And Jabo is the one giving me the errors mentioned in the post.

The other 3 I know of, z64gl does the same as Glide, Shunyuan and HatCat does the same as Rice... what do?

Also, I tried using older versions of PJ64, like the good old 1.6 but... well... My luck is awful.
You need a glide wrapper or GlideN64.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th July 2017, 03:16 AM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrulyVisceral View Post
Like?
Glide won't work, black screen and laggy sound.
Rice crashes, no matter what I change in settings.
And Jabo is the one giving me the errors mentioned in the post.

The other 3 I know of, z64gl does the same as Glide, Shunyuan and HatCat does the same as Rice... what do?

Also, I tried using older versions of PJ64, like the good old 1.6 but... well... My luck is awful.
In the meantime, I would advise you to right-click on any of your games, click on "Game Settings" and use these settings:


These are the plugins I use:
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.