Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11th February 2012, 11:06 AM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks again for more help. Received the second N64 to USB adapter yesterday. I've had all four controllers plugged in, only with two of us playing, and everything was fine. Three of us are having a go Monday night and I'll grab my better half for a few minutes just to see how it runs with four inputs at the same time - looking very promising so far though.

What does the audio sync do please? I've selected it but as usual have no understanding of its purpose.

Just tried the plugin thing. Pretty sure I've put everything in the right place as I now get a Glide64 settings window for configuring graphics plugins. There are loads of settings in it and I don't know if any can help but the pop-up issue is the same as before. Had a quick look and the tv you mentioned on Luigi Raceway was just black.

Thanks for clearing up the bot thing, had no idea that sort of stuff happened - seems a bit odd but had a look on Wiki and it mentioned they often try to advertise etc so I guess that's why.

Would there be any benefit for me to switch to the newer version of PJ64 which has to be paid for? If nothing else I feel I owe a donation.

Thanks again.

Justin

Last edited by justin8571; 11th February 2012 at 12:15 PM.
  #22  
Old 12th February 2012, 01:34 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
What does the audio sync do please? I've selected it but as usual have no understanding of its purpose.
It syncs the game to the audio XD (very helpful if your audio is off or need better [emulation] timing).


Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
Had a quick look and the tv you mentioned on Luigi Raceway was just black.
Look in the video plugin settings for an option called frame buffer or something like that (I'd be more specific, but I'm not sure if your using glide or jabo , should be similar to what I said tho still)


Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
Would there be any benefit for me to switch to the newer version of PJ64 which has to be paid for? If nothing else I feel I owe a donation.
Meh, not really, but if you fell like donating... (who knows maybe you'll find it fixes some stuff )
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #23  
Old 12th February 2012, 02:21 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

yeah fixes some stuff and breaks others xD

i believe the television can be fixed by turning on Copy Framebuffer to RDRAM in jabo's gfx settings
  #24  
Old 12th February 2012, 04:11 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
i believe the television can be fixed by turning on Copy Framebuffer to RDRAM in jabo's gfx settings
Dats wut I said (only more generalized XD)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #25  
Old 12th February 2012, 06:44 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,078
Default

sync game to audio stops audio cuts, but it doesn't allow the use of F4 :C
__________________
  #26  
Old 12th February 2012, 07:15 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voxelbuffer View Post
but it doesn't allow the use of F4 :C
You can still use it , it just won't do anything
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #27  
Old 12th February 2012, 08:08 PM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Hello and thanks to you all for the advice. Still can't get over how good this is and looking forward to having a couple of mates over tomorrow night for a bit of play testing.

I've gone back to Jabo as a video plugin for now. Mainly because I felt it looked better on the screen, a few less jaggies than Glide, but that might be because there were loads of settings on Glide that looked a bit complicated for my level of understanding to get the best out of.

Sad as it might sound we only play Koopa Beach just because it's the perfect track, so I'm not overly fussed about the screen on Luigi's Raceway. Would have been nice to sort out the pop-up issue (same distance with either Jabo or Glide selected) but that looks unlikely, but as I've mentioned before, there are so many positives with this over playing on the N64 that one small negative isn't really an issue.

Thanks again to you all for getting me this far with your advice and if anyone has any ideas on how to deal with the pop-up issue then I'd love to hear. Would also like to find a way of a bit of fine adjustment with the speed of the game just so I could get it to that of the original as the counter factor settings still leave it a few seconds a lap out.

Thanks

Justin

Last edited by justin8571; 12th February 2012 at 08:12 PM.
  #28  
Old 12th February 2012, 08:20 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
Would also like to find a way of a bit of fine adjustment with the speed of the game just so I could get it to that of the original as the counter factor settings still leave it a few seconds a lap out.
Audio sync didn't help?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #29  
Old 12th February 2012, 10:16 PM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
Audio sync didn't help?
No, unless I'm doing something wrong. With Audio Sync selected if I changed the Counter Factor it still changed the speed so I guess it didn't have any effect. Any ideas? Thanks as always.

Justin
  #30  
Old 6th March 2012, 09:24 AM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Hello everyone,

finally got round to having four of us play last night as one of the regulars has been working away for a couple of months.

The result... I just can't get the speed right, it's either noticeably too quick or too slow (about four or five seconds a lap). Too quick is unplayable and too slow is sedate. It's playable on the slower setting and I'd hoped that once we had four players the speed wouldn't be too noticeable but it feels like you're driving in treacle. We ended up going back to the N64 last night which was a shame as the resolution is so poor on a large TV compared to PJ64 which is crystal clear.

I've been through Project64's help guide and tried everything that I thought might have an impact on speed but the only setting I could find that made a real difference was Counter Factor where 2 is too fast and 3 too slow. If only there was a counter factor 2.5 and I think that would about do it.

So, I think I'm almost at the point of having to give up unless anyone can come up with a magic solution. I've yet to try PJ64 v1.7 so does anyone know if it has more control over the speed of a game, maybe finer controls to the counter factor for example.

Thanks to everyone as always.

Justin
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.