#1  
Old 2nd May 2015, 04:02 AM
Azimer Azimer is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Default Revamping Fixed Audio

I am looking to revamp the fixed audio in Project 64. A few tests I've done seem positive but what were the issues that came up by dynamically setting the ai counts per byte? Did it break some games?

I know I am having some difficulty with RE2.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd May 2015, 04:56 AM
Ambient_Malice Ambient_Malice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azimer View Post
I am looking to revamp the fixed audio in Project 64. A few tests I've done seem positive but what were the issues that came up by dynamically setting the ai counts per byte? Did it break some games?

I know I am having some difficulty with RE2.
RE2 is extremely sensitive to AI with FAT. Currently, FAT is being used to fix missing voices. It was also previously used to fix audio disappearing after loading save states - but that was "fixed" with the hack that resets audio after loading save states.

I haven't tested with your plugin recently, but with Jabo, the game loses voices if AI is set to 540. (With 1500VI) That's why I settled on the 1500/530 sweet spot. Not really ideal, since it pops intermittently with Jabo. (Sounded great with your plugin, though.) Also I tried 2200/785, but this caused the game to stop playing SFX during the last section of the opening FMV.

Honestly, the whole situation isn't ideal because FAT is almost useless currently for its intended purpose - netplay.

Also, FAT is currently needed to stop audio corruption/freezes/broken scripting in games like The World is Not Enough and Indiana Jones.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2015, 07:16 AM
Azimer Azimer is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Default

I just posted a PR to see if I can fix it. A lot of what zilmar has already done is what I had done in PJ 1.4 Audio Fix. I am hoping I can bring about a few improvements.

I believe FAT should always be on in a perfect world. That is my goal anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2015, 08:22 AM
Ambient_Malice Ambient_Malice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azimer View Post
I believe FAT should always be on in a perfect world. That is my goal anyway.
I can agree there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd May 2015, 09:03 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azimer View Post
I just posted a PR to see if I can fix it. A lot of what zilmar has already done is what I had done in PJ 1.4 Audio Fix. I am hoping I can bring about a few improvements.

I believe FAT should always be on in a perfect world. That is my goal anyway.
I've just tested your PR with RE2, TWINE and Perfect Dark. I set AI Count to 0 and enabled Fixed Audio Timing with all games and its spot on here. Much improved.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd May 2015, 09:53 AM
p_025 p_025 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azimer View Post
I believe FAT should always be on in a perfect world. That is my goal anyway.
I was about to ask about this, and I must say I agree since FAT seems essential to making CPU output deterministic.

I will chip in that Mario Party 3 runs really fast with FAT on, and to make it netplay compatible I had to also turn off "Sync using audio". Then to make it sound acceptable I had to lower the "AI count per byte" to 300. With these settings, I was able to play a full 35-turn game of Mario Party over the internet with one other person.

I'm not sure what any of these things should be set to in an ideal world, but these are the settings I had to use to make Fixed audio timing work acceptably well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd May 2015, 04:07 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 427
Default

I cant see the PR on github.. Any ideas?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd May 2015, 04:59 PM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

It has been merged, so you wont see a PR anymore :P
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd May 2015, 05:02 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V1del View Post
It has been merged, so you wont see a PR anymore :P
I was looking in Azimer's Audio plugin.. Thought it was a plugin PR.. DUH on me.


Thanks for the reply.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd May 2015, 10:49 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 829
Default

Indiana Jones (E) works fine except when using the latest Azimer's 0.70 WIP5. Loading a save state with WIP5 generates gigabytes of errors in d3d_syslog.txt from Jabo's LLE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.