Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th December 2008, 06:42 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 763
Question Multiple Button controller mapping?

Hey, i was discussing a matter with my friends and it came to me that Project 64 only allows one button mapped per N64 controller mapped buttons. I thought maybe it would be a good idea to allow an advanced option to be able to configure multile controller buttons for the same N64 button, allowing you to, for example, have the Z-Button located in multiple places of your PC controller, or dual analogue for a more modern style gameplay....

What do you think?
__________________
The World is burning...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th December 2008, 10:22 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

have talked about this before. main problem is the gui redesign, which we don't want to complicate. its a maybe, if someone can come up with an exremely, non- confusing design.
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2008, 02:26 PM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiff_ View Post
its a maybe, if someone can come up with an exremely, non- confusing design.
Seems like a job for Iconoclast, lol.
__________________
The World is burning...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th December 2008, 12:01 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Rather than extending the GUI necessarily since only the input needs to be extended (but not all the time importantly) first reasonable approach that comes to my mind is:

Please press buttons to assign.
Will set configuration when all buttons are released.

Of course we only have 10 fingers, but that's manageable I think?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th December 2008, 12:47 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 763
Default

[Bull=Iconocrazy;4773]
Please press buttons to assign.
Will set configuration when all buttons are released.

Of course we only have 10 fingers, but that's manageable I think?[/quote]

We'll just have to grow extra fingers I guess, or if worse comes to worse I'll just use my toes...

what about those controllers with malfunctioned buttons?
or those with too many in all the odd places?
where did my brain go?

__________________
The World is burning...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th December 2008, 12:52 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

It could be accurate to say hold this key and press all the buttons you want to assign (although excessive in many simple cases) about as much as it could be accurate to give the user the feel of actually pressing the buttons.

For example logically if you're going to assign 'M' and 'N' to the Z button you should be able to pass the test by actually holding them down simultaneously?

But extending the GUI isn't professional in this case--just because it isn't required.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th December 2008, 01:46 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
But extending the GUI isn't professional in this case--just because it isn't required.
My apologies, it seem i misunderstood what you were trying to say...... that would be an okay idea, but I wudnt say that extending the GUI is "not professional," it's probably actually a usefull feature....eg dual analogue
__________________
The World is burning...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th December 2008, 10:40 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

i don't see anything obviously wrong with iconoclast's suggestion (only thing needed would be a wider label).. unless you wanted to be able to set button combinations aswell?
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2008, 07:16 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

It would be possible to map multiple system/controller buttons to one N64 button, VBA-M for example.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th December 2008, 10:13 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
It would be possible to map multiple system/controller buttons to one N64 button, VBA-M for example.
we know its possible heh.. er do you want to post a screenshot of that emulator then?
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.