#41  
Old 20th January 2015, 07:09 PM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 20th January 2015, 07:56 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

Just a thought,did you know N64 can be rewinded?

I tried rewinding Banjo-Kazooie with Mupen64Plus on RetroArch for Android and it worked.
Just think how much more awesome PJ64 could be with a more powerful (longer rewind caching) version of that rewind function added to it!

I never knew it was even possible to rewind 3D emulated games!

I can run Super Smash Bros. on PJ64 2.x at 90fps with four DKs on Hyrule using Glide64,and that's on a single core PC.
This would mean it should still run decently on more modern computers with rewind added.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 20th January 2015, 08:47 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by =X= Smasherx74 =X= View Post
it should be a higher priority than your social life.
Lol wut
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 21st January 2015, 02:33 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Just a thought,did you know N64 can be rewinded?

I tried rewinding Banjo-Kazooie with Mupen64Plus on RetroArch for Android and it worked.
Just think how much more awesome PJ64 could be with a more powerful (longer rewind caching) version of that rewind function added to it!

I never knew it was even possible to rewind 3D emulated games!

I can run Super Smash Bros. on PJ64 2.x at 90fps with four DKs on Hyrule using Glide64,and that's on a single core PC.
This would mean it should still run decently on more modern computers with rewind added.
A rewind feature would definitely be a good idea to polish the emulator. I feel that there are many other areas of opertunity to focus on first. I'm convinced that there should almost be a thread that just focuses on the current status and direction of PJ64.

I would like to see several core issues resolved before the polish. . If only I could do more to help.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 21st January 2015, 02:45 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Smasher's some kind of troll or whatever, not sure? Every time I see any member here on this forum call him out on something that's factually wrong he never replies anyway.

Dunno who is he really, some Project64k NetPlay upgrades guy. I read somewhere he admitted to stealing some guy's code involuntarily for a change to pj64k, idk what pj64k is anymore anyway so not relevant to thread. Moving on...

retroben: I don't use Mupen64Plus personally, but just because they forked Mupen64 0.5 with a rewind feature doesn't mean N64 has a rewind feature. The RetroArch frontend has an interface for rewind tho IIRC, which does use m64p.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathdroid View Post
Just getting to stick my beak in here, Projects 64 builds fine off of Visual Studio 2013. Mind you that's off my own repo but I cant remember having to change anything to get it to build under it. (Though i did remove glide and nrage from the build process, no point if your interest is only in the emulator.)
I agree about glide/nrage/all the rest being in one single VC project/GitHub repo complicating things, probably just making some things more difficult. While it's not my personal viewpoint that the ends justify the means, it's not my project and instead I'm just going to focus on trying to submit changes to help other people not have such a hard time going through what I did to get this to compile. If we're going to have an all-in-one solution, I may as well reduce the pain needed to get it to work portably to make future contributions easier for others/myself.

Last edited by HatCat; 21st January 2015 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 21st January 2015, 05:22 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Just a thought,did you know N64 can be rewinded?
Lol, it's just an emulator feature dude ;/ .
Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
I can run Super Smash Bros. on PJ64 2.x at 90fps with four DKs on Hyrule using Glide64,and that's on a single core PC.
This would mean it should still run decently on more modern computers with rewind added.
From what I've seen, HLE heavily uses the gfx card, so that's why you get good performance on a single core PC .

Quote:
Originally Posted by theboy181 View Post
A rewind feature would definitely be a good idea to polish the emulator. I feel that there are many other areas of opertunity to focus on first.
Agreed. Bug fixes, audio, timing, etc are important imo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theboy181 View Post
If only I would do more to help.
Fixed .

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatCat View Post
Smasher's some kind of troll or whatever, not sure?
Yup, he's a dedicated troll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatCat View Post
If we're going to have an all-in-one solution, I may as well reduce the pain needed to get it to work portably to make future contributions easier for others/myself.
That would be awesome .
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22nd January 2015, 03:38 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

FINALLY. The thing compiles!
Got VS2008 installed...only 1 error out of 2000 warnings, it was some error about N-Rage squall version 2.3 or w/e. I just use the stable 2.1 release anyway; I don't care that it failed. squall himself doesn't even care admittedly about the N-Rage 2.3 in pj64, so all it's really doing is soaking up simultaneous dependencies on DirectInput AND XInput. And this is why rabiddeity quit the N-Rage overhaul.

Anyway point in case nvm that.
The rest of it compiles and builds.

RPGMaster could you do me a favor and post bug reports to the GitHub for project64 about the RSP interpreter? You said there was a bug in the RSP interpreter for PJ64 for some weird Japanese game you mentioned. Could you do the honors and post our very first GitHub bug here for me to look at thanks:
https://github.com/project64/project64/issues
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 22nd January 2015, 04:00 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Ok done . Thanks for helping out.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 22nd January 2015, 08:06 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Wow omg! I'm struggling to update fork ;/ . I tried git clone, but it won't let me since the folder exists. After deleting the folder and cloning, I never successfully managed to merge it properly ;/ . I always struggle with the silliest things .
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22nd January 2015, 08:12 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

If the folder already exists on your disk, and people have pushed commits to github project64 while you were making commits locally, then the easier thing for you to do is cd into the folder and `git pull`, not `git clone`. This will download (pull) all the commits pushed to the official repository to your own folder, without discarding the offline commits you've already done independently.

I'm not great at Git either--still trying to get over the fact that github says there are 3 forks of project64, when really one is just one I deleted and restarted to edit something screwy I tried. I don't even know how to undo a fork.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.