#1  
Old 29th June 2013, 04:27 PM
iccutreb iccutreb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Angry Save File Problems

I've used Project64 for many moons. I recently started playing Ocarina of Time and got a good way into it. I saved the normal way, by pressing F5. Unfortunately, the next time I went into the emulator the save would not load when I pressed F7. I checked the saves folder and it's in there. What do I do to get my data?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th June 2013, 02:59 PM
FierceDeityMask's Avatar
FierceDeityMask FierceDeityMask is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iccutreb View Post
I've used Project64 for many moons. I recently started playing Ocarina of Time and got a good way into it. I saved the normal way, by pressing F5. Unfortunately, the next time I went into the emulator the save would not load when I pressed F7. I checked the saves folder and it's in there. What do I do to get my data?
That's a good indication that the file was corrupt while saving which can happen every once in a while. I personally have discovered a glitch in Project64's save system where pressing CTRL + S and saving, it doesn't save at all playing Majora's Mask. The only way I get around it is by continually pressing CTRL + S immediately after saving and I see the save appear eventually. Perhaps it's a new bug in 2.0 because in 1.6 I never once had a problem with saving, but I will reinstall later.

If you'd like, you could attach your save to a reply and I could test it to see if it works in my Project 64. Hope to see it's resolved, maybe you just got unlucky.

Last edited by FierceDeityMask; 4th July 2013 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2013, 07:52 PM
iccutreb iccutreb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Ok, I thanks for the input. ONe thing I neglected to mention though, is that when I add project 64 to my taskbar (the bar on the bottom of the computer) the next time I try to open it it tells me the location of the file the shortcut goes to has been deleted or removed. It also does this with my DS emulator, but not with my gameboy emulator. When I find the project64 file again and try to use it the save doesn't work despite already being in the save folder, as I said. Here's the save.
Attached Files
File Type: zip THE_LEGEND_OF_ZELDA.zip (160 Bytes, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2013, 11:45 PM
FierceDeityMask's Avatar
FierceDeityMask FierceDeityMask is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 9
Default

Interesting, this file is only 160 bytes (It should be around 600kb or higher. That's clear indication that the file was corrupted. This save will not work for me either. I assume you're using Windows, you might want to try some diagnostic tests. Try saving the file using F5 in Project64 again. Try to restore it 10 seconds after saving to see if the file has been saved and works. It seems to me it could well be a file permissions problem where you should manually grant Project64 administrative privileges.



As for your taskbar problem. That's odd, perhaps you're moving the shortcut you pinned to the taskbar to a different folder. Try going into the Project64's folder (make sure the folder always stays in the same place) and assign Project64 to taskbar there.



Perhaps you just got unlucky, corruptions and problems do happen. But for the benefit of the doubt. I think you should try saving a few times and follow my advice. That way, you can fresh install PJ64 and if the problem still persists you'll know it's nothing to do with the program. It can then only mean something along the lines of file permissions, network restrictions, hard drive failure or Operating System policies. I doubt the program would have any incompatibility with Windows OS's or hardware that would cause a save exception to occur. At least I've never heard of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2013, 11:50 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Technically FLASHRAM save chip is 128 KB, but Project64 has a memory overrun glitch that writes outside the Flash backup memory save buffer into sequential RDRAM blocks, thus filling up the .FLA save file with absolute crap.

My completed Zelda MM save is over 5 megabytes.
Saving it correctly with Mupen64 truncates it down to only the relevant 128K.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th July 2013, 04:41 PM
iccutreb iccutreb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks! I'll keep this in mind as I go through the game again back to where I was. I really appreciate your help. Sorry I couldn't reply earlier, this is the first time I've seen my computer in days. Anyways, thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
delete, issue, save, zelda

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.