#1  
Old 15th December 2008, 08:42 AM
maraakate maraakate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA, U.S.A.
Posts: 12
Default Audio Resampling

I haven't donated to the project yet (going to coerce my parents into doing this for me as a christmas gift) but I would love to see the audio plugin to allow different resampling rates.

Would be nice to have the games resample to 48kHz, or even 96kHz for the audiophiles.

I'm not sure how hard this would be to implement. Other cool ideas (but the time vs. practicality overrides this) would be to allow DSP plugins to plugin into the audio emulator to allow for cool things such as surround sound resampling (i.e. Volume Logix, DFX, SRS Plugins and so on). I doubt such a feature would ever be done but figured I'd throw it out there. Though admittedly, it would be possible to do all of this with an extremely fast sound card meant for recording, use a linein foobar or winamp plugin and resample in realtime.

Curious to hear others thoughts on the ability to switch between sample rates.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th December 2008, 03:59 PM
RadeonUser's Avatar
RadeonUser RadeonUser is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Gent and I (mostly Gent) have tried nudging Jabo to do something similar to what he did for textures but he seemed rather reluctant to mess with the audio plugin.

I'm not that much of an audiophile but would there be a benefit to resampling?
If memory serves (It might be foggy...) the N64 was played back stereo or mono audio at 16bit 44.1khz
I always thought resampling always led to extra noise.

Now if we could replace the original samples themselves with higher quality versions... *nudges Jabo some more*
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
Ram: 4GB DDR2
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4770
Sound Card: On-Board Realtek ALC889A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2008, 11:02 PM
maraakate maraakate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA, U.S.A.
Posts: 12
Default

I think it personally sounds better but it's all subjective. It also depends on how good the code is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th December 2008, 10:03 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Resampling is completely useless, you actually introduce audio artifacts by upsampling, which would degrade the audio quality., As it is, most sound cards, excluding the xFi's, output at 48Khz, even though they are processed at 96.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th December 2008, 02:02 PM
CA5 CA5 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
Resampling is completely useless, you actually introduce audio artifacts by upsampling, which would degrade the audio quality., As it is, most sound cards, excluding the xFi's, output at 48Khz, even though they are processed at 96.
Rofl, you pwn everyone
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th December 2008, 02:14 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

have you ever heard what happens to a 44khz signal thats been sampled up to 96?

its very, very tinny.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th December 2008, 02:17 PM
CA5 CA5 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
have you ever heard what happens to a 44khz signal thats been sampled up to 96?

its very, very tinny.
Can't say I have rly, but I have faith in you, so...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.