#11  
Old 4th June 2011, 06:23 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Well, about 1964, what's important is if you eventually find that the game crashes if you patiently try to play through it anyway?

The flickering and other graphics issues can be fixed in 1964, but I'd like to know if you find that the memory CPU is stable more-so than as with playing whilst using Project64.

Oh, and like I said, Mupen64 also plays the game pretty well, so whichever one has more stable memory. Don't worry about graphics or sound (or ease of input configuration) for now; those things can all be changed later.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th June 2011, 02:19 AM
regnad regnad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Default

For me 1964 doesn't freeze with Banjo-Tooie, but it does with PJ64.

I use 1964 exclusively for B-T. I wish PJ64 didn't have this issue, and I'd be happy to donate and get 1.7 if the developers could solve this problem definitively.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th June 2011, 02:26 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

That's what I thought. Thanks for verifying, and I have read that Banjo-Tooie has been improved in the beta but have not tested that particular game thoroughly on 1.7.

However, what confuses me is this.
I did in fact test it thoroughly on 1.6, just not 1.7.

In fact, I completely played through Banjo-Tooie on Project64 1.6 without any cheats. I've been reading a couple reports of this game freezing on 1.6 recently and forgot about the confusing fact that I myself played through it on 1.6 without any issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Finished Banjo-Tooie with "Check Memory Advance" and ABL and TLB forced off.
So why am I the only one here noting the game to be working fine in Project64?

Could it be the RDB settings I am using? Someone want to test the RDB configuration I've described above?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:24 AM
TheLegendaryJames's Avatar
TheLegendaryJames TheLegendaryJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
That's what I thought. Thanks for verifying, and I have read that Banjo-Tooie has been improved in the beta but have not tested that particular game thoroughly on 1.7.

However, what confuses me is this.
I did in fact test it thoroughly on 1.6, just not 1.7.

In fact, I completely played through Banjo-Tooie on Project64 1.6 without any cheats. I've been reading a couple reports of this game freezing on 1.6 recently and forgot about the confusing fact that I myself played through it on 1.6 without any issue.


So why am I the only one here noting the game to be working fine in Project64?

Could it be the RDB settings I am using? Someone want to test the RDB configuration I've described above?
I would be willing to test if I knew what the heck RDB settings were.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:26 AM
TheLegendaryJames's Avatar
TheLegendaryJames TheLegendaryJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 78
Default

I left all settings on default when I played Banjo-Tooie on Project 64 1.6.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:32 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Alright first, the only easy way to access the RDB settings is if "Hide Advanced Settings" is disabled. You can disable that setting from the "Options" tab of the Options/Settings... dialogue in Project64.

Once you've done that, when you right-click Banjo-Tooie in the ROM browser, you should be able to pick "Edit Game Settings".

There are a lot of options you could set here, but the modifications I have made from the default are:
  • Self-modifying Code Method: "Check Memory Advance"
  • Advanced Block Linking: "Off"
  • Use TLB: "Off"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:33 AM
TheLegendaryJames's Avatar
TheLegendaryJames TheLegendaryJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 78
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Alright first, the only easy way to access the RDB settings is if "Hide Advanced Settings" is disabled. You can disable that setting from the "Options" tab of the Options/Settings... dialogue in Project64.

Once you've done that, when you right-click Banjo-Tooie in the ROM browser, you should be able to pick "Edit Game Settings".

There are a lot of options you could set here, but the modifications I have made from the default are:
  • Self-modifying Code Method: "Check Memory Advance"
  • Advanced Block Linking: "Off"
  • Use TLB: "Off"
Okay thanks, I'm going to try this right now! Hopefully it works !
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:38 AM
TheLegendaryJames's Avatar
TheLegendaryJames TheLegendaryJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Alright first, the only easy way to access the RDB settings is if "Hide Advanced Settings" is disabled. You can disable that setting from the "Options" tab of the Options/Settings... dialogue in Project64.

Once you've done that, when you right-click Banjo-Tooie in the ROM browser, you should be able to pick "Edit Game Settings".

There are a lot of options you could set here, but the modifications I have made from the default are:
  • Self-modifying Code Method: "Check Memory Advance"
  • Advanced Block Linking: "Off"
  • Use TLB: "Off"
I don't see the "Edit game settings" option, but I just chose my ROM directory (just now) and the status says "Issues (core)".
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:45 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

That's where you right-click on the entry for "Banjo-Tooie" to find the "Edit Game Settings" option.

Again, that option isn't visible in the right-click / context menu if "Hide Advanced Settings" was not turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 6th June 2011, 02:52 AM
TheLegendaryJames's Avatar
TheLegendaryJames TheLegendaryJames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
That's where you right-click on the entry for "Banjo-Tooie" to find the "Edit Game Settings" option.

Again, that option isn't visible in the right-click / context menu if "Hide Advanced Settings" was not turned on.
Okay I see now. The settings:
Self-modifying code Method: Check Memory Advance
Advanced Block Linking: Default (which I will change to off)
Use TLB: unchecked

Could having the Advanced Block Linking on default be the problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
banjo-tooie, fix, freeze, help me, project64 1.6

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.