Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th May 2011, 10:04 AM
Biff Tanner Biff Tanner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I can confirm this is something that doesn't happen on the actual N64 version as I have had many games of this 4 player and its something I never saw.

At first I thought it might have been a input plugin issue with the c buttons as I thought they might control the camera panning but they actually deal with strafing so it seems like it would be an core emulator issue I would think.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th May 2011, 03:34 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Thanks for providing the saved state.

It isn't an issue with controller input plugins, even though I have tested 3 of those as well. Camera movement signals might be able to be controlled by it, but the signals themselves are defined in the ROM. It would be somewhere in the main emulator like you had said or maybe an RSP instruction I guess.

It either is a native camera problem that happens on the original hardware or an instance of unsupported code in both Project64 1.6 and Project64 1.7. For now I'll presume what you're saying is true that it does not happen on the original hardware and have these notes hooked in the alpha forum so that anyone there can look at the saved state--maybe find an implementation in the beta that fixes this problem if it truly isn't native to the hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th May 2011, 03:05 AM
jmanx18's Avatar
jmanx18 jmanx18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Thanks for providing the saved state.

It isn't an issue with controller input plugins, even though I have tested 3 of those as well. Camera movement signals might be able to be controlled by it, but the signals themselves are defined in the ROM. It would be somewhere in the main emulator like you had said or maybe an RSP instruction I guess.

It either is a native camera problem that happens on the original hardware or an instance of unsupported code in both Project64 1.6 and Project64 1.7. For now I'll presume what you're saying is true that it does not happen on the original hardware and have these notes hooked in the alpha forum so that anyone there can look at the saved state--maybe find an implementation in the beta that fixes this problem if it truly isn't native to the hardware.
Nah It's not a error that happens on the original hardware I have the game and it never happened once. but yea this error been there as long as I can remember(6 years) lol on every emulator it is quite a weird one. I just makes player 3 and 4 screens go crazy.
__________________
Made Major fixes to Zelda 64 Multiplayer patch check it out.

z64.spinout182.com/index.php?topic=326.msg1768#msg1768

IM me for more questions.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th May 2011, 08:28 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Could be one of those defects in code based on the original Project Unreality or something, if it's not a simple lack of implementation.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th May 2011, 05:36 PM
Biff Tanner Biff Tanner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Cheers for that Iconoclast.
Would be awesome if someone did find a fix for it, I shall patiently wait and see.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17th May 2011, 07:44 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Yeah, I wouldn't count on a fast answer or report to the situation anytime soon. Things like Pokemon Snap or Donkey Kong 64 worked in Project64 because of some implemented hacks not used in other emulators, so it's questionable if for core implementation Mr. zilmar can find the time for resolving the bug for this as well since it's been years from stuff like that.

I was also thinking if only I was more familiar with this game or owned it to know the navigation of it I could look into memory searching and see if there is some boolean modifier I can do to alter the glitchy camera bug on those player screens a bit. That always take a lot of time though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23rd May 2011, 12:13 PM
Biff Tanner Biff Tanner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Just wish I had put more attention to this issue years ago, I thought conkers was a popular game so it would be picked up eventually.

Is a specific applicaiton needed for memory searching or is it done through p64?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23rd May 2011, 06:35 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Good to know that a part of it is just a balance of time on the end of the person working on the core, rather than inability to look into the issue.

It can be done through Project64 since a certain release build of 1.7. To do it through Project64 1.4 (or 1.6) needs some external software to do memory searching. A good choice is Renegade if you can get it to work, but there is a plugin more geared towards searching in N64 emulators than a compatibility across all sorts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.