Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th June 2010, 07:30 PM
Nextil Nextil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Low FPS in Ocarina of Time on Fast PC

I have no idea what could be causing it, then again, I'm not too experienced in emulation.

My computer should be able to emulate anything Project 64 throws at it. Here are the specs:

6GB of DDR2 RAM
Nvidia GTX 260
Intel Q6600 (Quad Core, 2.4GHz)

I'm running Windows 7 (64 bit). I've tried 1964 too and it runs just as bad. I don't know whether this is a problem with Ocarina of Time or the emulator in general because I don't have any other roms.

The game is running at an average of 15-20 FPS. Other emulators such as Dolphin and PCSX2 run at much higher speeds. I don't know what information to provide, I have my settings at their defaults and I have tried reinstalling, but it made no difference.

Can someone offer some suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th June 2010, 07:40 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

most n64 titles run at 17/18 fps and 20fps for pal and ntsc games respectively.

a few will run at variable fps up to 60.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th June 2010, 08:55 PM
Nextil Nextil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Fraps said that it was running at 20 fps, but it was definitely running at lower than full speed.

I just tried using Jabo's DX8 video plugin instead of Rice Video and it now appears to run at full speed. Can I load custom textures with Jabo's plugin? I can't find an option to. Which plugin should I use?

EDIT:

I got a new version of Rice and all is well.

Sorry for the trouble.

Last edited by Nextil; 14th June 2010 at 09:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.