#1  
Old 23rd June 2013, 09:25 PM
BlockABoots BlockABoots is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Default Rice GFX Plugin Not Showing Up.

Haven't used Projec64 in years and am happy its still being developed, and was really surprised to use new version recently released.

I am trying to use the varies HD texture packs that are about, and need to install Rice video plug in, and have downloaded the setup file and installed it into the plugin folder but it doesnt show up in the GFX plugin list. Any ideas why its not showing up?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th June 2013, 02:45 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlockABoots View Post
I am trying to use the varies HD texture packs that are about, and need to install Rice video plug in,
No you don't, you can use glide
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th June 2013, 03:36 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Daedalus/RiceVideo was, is, and always will be the biggest clusterfukk of Direct3D rendering class deficiencies, hacks, and bugs of all the graphics emulation plugins.

I always enjoyed using it and optimizing the INI config file for it and for others (even if it was mostly frame update hacks for speed boosts), but I think that maybe if systems nowadays support Glide64 better and zilmar finishes removing all the original GLIDE/dependency code, that people should be starting to move away from Rice system of plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th June 2013, 04:04 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Daedalus/RiceVideo was, is, and always will be the biggest clusterfukk of Direct3D rendering class deficiencies, hacks, and bugs of all the graphics emulation plugins.

I always enjoyed using it and optimizing the INI config file for it and for others (even if it was mostly frame update hacks for speed boosts), but I think that maybe if systems nowadays support Glide64 better and zilmar finishes removing all the original GLIDE/dependency code, that people should be starting to move away from Rice system of plugins.
Is Zilmar still working on getting that fixed up so it will no longer require the glide dependency code? I haven't heard much of anything from him in a while. And you're right about Rice Video, that thing is so FUBAR it's hilarious. I laugh at the people on EmuCR trying to make "new" builds or a "new" branches.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th June 2013, 08:11 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlockABoots View Post
Haven't used Projec64 in years and am happy its still being developed, and was really surprised to use new version recently released.

I am trying to use the varies HD texture packs that are about, and need to install Rice video plug in, and have downloaded the setup file and installed it into the plugin folder but it doesnt show up in the GFX plugin list. Any ideas why its not showing up?
it is possible you lack the the c-runtime dll for rice video plugin.

You can try this one: Rice Video Community version, and don't forget to install vs2010 c-runtime.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th June 2013, 08:55 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 381
Default

i need to move my ass also so that pj64 has a decent plugin. but now with mupen coming into the fold, my motivation is low.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th June 2013, 10:25 AM
GPDP GPDP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxatax View Post
i need to move my ass also so that pj64 has a decent plugin. but now with mupen coming into the fold, my motivation is low.
What would you implement in a new plugin? Would it be based on an existing codebase, or written from scratch?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th June 2013, 10:54 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 381
Default

I was working on a brandnew plugin, but progress has completely stalled. Mainly due to the fact that more accurate solutions now exist.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th June 2013, 12:24 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxatax View Post
I was working on a brandnew plugin, but progress has completely stalled. Mainly due to the fact that more accurate solutions now exist.
You're more than welcome to make a Direct2D/3D/OpenGL/etc. version off my fork when you feel there is the time and interest for it.

I am really inexperienced with API issues, so I wouldn't mind merging in replacement OpenGL, SDL or even plain GDI code to solve hardware-dependent issues with rasterization.

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
it is possible you lack the the c-runtime dll for rice video plugin.

You can try this one: Rice Video Community version, and don't forget to install vs2010 c-runtime.
I almost never program with Microsoft Visual Studio unless I can guarantee avoidance of all CRT functions.

This can be done by avoiding use of complex C run-time methods such as printf/sprintf that don't get optimized to native x86 code and disabling "Buffer security check" in VS2010 project settings.

If you follow all these steps, you can eventually make any executable/DLL not dependent of MSVC*(anything)*.DLL.

Otherwise, I just use MinGW port of GNU linker to make it dependent off of the standard, more universal MSVCRT.DLL.
Forcing people to install these updates is retarded, as it's mostly just Microsoft dicking around with their opinion of "secure" CRT functions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
Is Zilmar still working on getting that fixed up so it will no longer require the glide dependency code? I haven't heard much of anything from him in a while.
No clue what to tell ya
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th June 2013, 02:06 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
You're more than welcome to make a Direct2D/3D/OpenGL/etc. version off my fork when you feel there is the time and interest for it.

I am really inexperienced with API issues, so I wouldn't mind merging in replacement OpenGL, SDL or even plain GDI code to solve hardware-dependent issues with rasterization.



I almost never program with Microsoft Visual Studio unless I can guarantee avoidance of all CRT functions.

This can be done by avoiding use of complex C run-time methods such as printf/sprintf that don't get optimized to native x86 code and disabling "Buffer security check" in VS2010 project settings.

If you follow all these steps, you can eventually make any executable/DLL not dependent of MSVC*(anything)*.DLL.

Otherwise, I just use MinGW port of GNU linker to make it dependent off of the standard, more universal MSVCRT.DLL.
Forcing people to install these updates is retarded, as it's mostly just Microsoft dicking around with their opinion of "secure" CRT functions.



No clue what to tell ya

I guess I could always ask him
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.