Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Cheats

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th August 2016, 01:19 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default Winback grey square cheatfix

Here's a video showing how to use cheat engine to get rid of the floating grey square in Winback.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBKeZDwsGGE

But I can't follow it. It's too small. There's a link to his CT file and a txt with the value to put.

It would be useful to have a cheat for Project64 to remove the grey square.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th August 2016, 08:36 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

Also, the square bug doesn't happen with Rice's plugins. After 10 years I can't remember whether it was something I did in the settings or if it was just emulated fine within the plugin itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2016, 12:16 PM
ilejeszcze ilejeszcze is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 0
Default

Thanks for posting this video - I sent you a PM with this question but maybe it can help someone else too:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2016, 11:40 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 652
Default

I found something...

811348D4 43A6
811348D6 0000
811348D8 4380
811348DA 0000

It freezes the sky movement but removes the square.

But using only either half's lines allows the sky to move albeit in the wrong direction technically.

811348D4 43A6
811348D6 0000

or

811348D8 4380
811348DA 0000

Hopefully this isn't pointer related or different per area.
Edit: Changed values for earliest instance of no grey square.

Edit2: Check my post below for better version.

Last edited by retroben; 24th August 2016 at 02:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th August 2016, 01:20 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
I found something...

811348D4 4586
811348D6 F800
811348D8 4587
811348DA C400

It freezes the sky movement but removes the square.

But using only either half's lines allows the sky to move albeit in the wrong direction technically.

811348D4 4590
811348D6 0000

or

811348D8 4588
811348DA 0000

Hopefully this isn't pointer related or different per area.

You are my favorite!!

Thanks btw!
__________________
So you think you can TECH!! Watch this!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAUKPq5QjL0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th August 2016, 01:58 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 652
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxEwC8vLSD0

Edit: Turns out the code might be the same exact addresses in RDRAM form.
Hard to tell,but the sky appears to be frozen in the video,so I ended up with a better result that makes the sky stay functional.

Attempt at making it fully functional by reverting the position,you can see the sky jump whenever it triggers though...

D11348D4 447F
811348D4 43A6
D11348D4 447F
811348D6 0000
D11348D8 447F
811348D8 4380
D11348D8 447F
811348DA 0000

or a shorter one...

D11348D4 447F
811348D4 43A6
D11348D8 447F
811348D8 4380

Edit: Oops,something I forgot.

D01348D4 0041
811348D4 43A6
D01348D8 0041
811348D8 4380

Add this to it for the first instance which will briefly allow it to appear for 1 second to avoid missing the change entirely,as the default value of these addresses in 32bits is 40 00 00 00 on the memory viewer and 4000 goes by very fast.

In case anyone gets confused...

Latest Version
D01348D4 0041
811348D4 43A6
D01348D8 0041
811348D8 4380
D11348D4 447F
811348D4 43A6
D11348D8 447F
811348D8 4380

Last edited by retroben; 24th August 2016 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th August 2016, 04:00 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Excellent!

Works perfect added to the RDB.

Add this to the Winback entry:
Code:
Cheat0=D01348D4 0041,811348D4 43A6,D01348D8 0041,811348D8 4380,D11348D4 447F,811348D4 43A6,D11348D8 447F,811348D8 4380 // Grey Square Fix
CheatPlugin0=Jabo's Direct3D8,Glide64
You can add extra plugins for it to be enabled for. Just put the first word of the plugin as it's shown in configure plugins. I used just Glide64 instead of Glide64 For PJ64, so it works on all Glide64 versions.

Many thanks!

Last edited by Frank74; 24th August 2016 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th August 2016, 07:31 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Created a pull request to get it merged into the RDB.

https://github.com/project64/project64/pull/1188

It only took 15 years!

P.S.
I only tested the first level. Is there a chance this will not work further on in the game?

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Add this to it for the first instance which will briefly allow it to appear for 1 second to avoid missing the change entirely,as the default value of these addresses in 32bits is 40 00 00 00 on the memory viewer and 4000 goes by very fast.
Because used in the RDB, it's enabled from boot, and is allways enabled, should it just use 4000 for the RDB?

Last edited by Frank74; 24th August 2016 at 08:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th August 2016, 08:45 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 652
Default

That would freeze the skybox too though,my latest one works around the issue by allowing the sky to work correctly but has the random jump whenever it hits a certain point.

If anyone can find the precise values to use for checking (D0/D1 lines) and modifying (normal lines),the jump can be removed for perfect skybox animations.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th August 2016, 08:46 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

I've not noticed but does the water scroll as well?

Edit: Just noticed the jump in the sky. It jumps after about a minute, then again 5-6 seconds later, repeats.

Last edited by Frank74; 24th August 2016 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.