Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th May 2011, 10:50 PM
daugystik daugystik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default Xbox 360 Controller Issues

I am trying to configure my Xbox 360 controller, but there appears to be a bug, or an issue on my end. It claims that the right joystick is constantly active; However, I do not have this problem with any other emulators. So when I go to configure my controller, it will not let me edit my button mapping because I keep on trying to use the same button for everything (Rz).

Last edited by daugystik; 11th May 2011 at 11:10 PM.
  #2  
Old 11th May 2011, 11:30 PM
1337's Avatar
1337 1337 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 314
Default

1: Is the wired or wireless controller? (Wired ones are pretty much guaranteed to work without any extra downloads)
2: Which controller plugin are you using? I'm sure everyone would agree with this suggestion, but if you're not using N-Rage, download from the link in my siggy.

I await your response.
__________________
What to read before you post

N-rage

Xinput for Xbox 360 Controller

PJ64 1.6 Download

System Specs:

Windows 7 Professional
GeForce GTX 760
16 GB RAM
120 GB SSD, 1 TB HHD x2 (1 Internal/1 External)
Intel i5-4670k
  #3  
Old 12th May 2011, 12:18 AM
daugystik daugystik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337 View Post
1: Is the wired or wireless controller? (Wired ones are pretty much guaranteed to work without any extra downloads)
2: Which controller plugin are you using? I'm sure everyone would agree with this suggestion, but if you're not using N-Rage, download from the link in my siggy.

I await your response.
Thanks for the help
1. Wired
2. I am an idiot for not including this, my apologies... I am using "tattieboogle". It is a driver that allows macs to use xbox 360 controllers. I use a program called "crossover" that allows Project64 to run properly. Crossover is basically an emulator for windows programs, so I have an emulator to run an emulator. I have been wanting to play the Ocarina of Time for a while now, but my nintendo is with my sister far away lmao. I will see what I can do with N-Rage and I will get back to you with my success/failure in a bit.

EDIT: I have the N-Rage plugin installed (Unless it somehow automatically found the file I installed, I assume the plugin was preinstalled) but now I have another issue with it. It simply will not pick up any of the signals from my controller when I try to bind buttons to it.

EDIT2: Had one of those stupid moments... I didn't see the extra tab that allowed me to activate my controller haha. Thanks for your help! I thought it was going to be an elaborate fix, but it was quite simple. I did find out how to install plugins and such as well while fixing this which is great because I would love an HD texture of the Ocarina of Time.

Thanks for the help

EDIT 3: One last question: is it possible to bind menu commands to a controller? I want to have RB function as a speed boost, so I want to make F4's command to RB.

Last edited by daugystik; 12th May 2011 at 12:44 AM.
  #4  
Old 12th May 2011, 12:47 AM
1337's Avatar
1337 1337 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 314
Default

Unfortunately because you said you're using a mac, there's really not much we can do.

Because the emulator is made to function on windows only we really have no support for any problems you might encounter.
__________________
What to read before you post

N-rage

Xinput for Xbox 360 Controller

PJ64 1.6 Download

System Specs:

Windows 7 Professional
GeForce GTX 760
16 GB RAM
120 GB SSD, 1 TB HHD x2 (1 Internal/1 External)
Intel i5-4670k
  #5  
Old 12th May 2011, 01:17 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

Well, it seems that he's doing fine anyway.

You can use a program called JoytoKey to map F4 to a button on that controller. It's free and not hard to find through google.
__________________
  #6  
Old 12th May 2011, 06:54 PM
daugystik daugystik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natnatertatertot View Post
Well, it seems that he's doing fine anyway.

You can use a program called JoytoKey to map F4 to a button on that controller. It's free and not hard to find through google.
I'll give it a shot! Thanks a ton man! If I can get that to work, then I would be able to map save state keys and F4 to my controller. The last thing I want to do is get an HD texturepack and I will be having myself a grand old time... thanks for the help guys! There's really not much more you can help me with from here on out.
  #7  
Old 12th May 2011, 07:09 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

good luck broheim.
__________________
  #8  
Old 12th May 2011, 08:56 PM
daugystik daugystik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natnatertatertot View Post
good luck broheim.
I worked on this for about an hour and a half, and I finally got it to work... The problem was that the program was unable to find files on the mac OS even though I specified the files properly. However, the program would work flawlessly, but only when using it on the joytokey application. After some more work, I got a cracked version of gamepad companion and it's working fine. (If you're one of those anti-piracy people, don't worry, I'm gonna buy it now that I know it works... I don't steal from devs) Now I just need to get an HD texture pack working and I'm set

I don't know why, but I honestly enjoy doing stuff like this... Whenever I play minecraft I spend half of my time installing mods and fixing up compatibility issues then I do actually playing the game lmao
  #9  
Old 12th May 2011, 09:01 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

Heh, I've almost killed minecraft as well
__________________
  #10  
Old 12th May 2011, 09:04 PM
daugystik daugystik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natnatertatertot View Post
Heh, I've almost killed minecraft as well
I've seen some of your videos... I'm just saying to hell with texturepacks... I've been wanting to play through this game again for years, and I figure I might as well do it in its full glory
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.