#11  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:12 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
lol, well that wouldn't happen to possibly because of the 30-day-trial shareware edition of Project64 1.7.0.55 you're using now is it?
Nope

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
I mean, why is this in the 1.7 suggestions forum if you're not even a beta member?
What does that have to do with anything? And besides if thats was true Jabo wouldn't let people who haven't donated create threads here any way (like he did with the problems section).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:14 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Well because you reported a problem, not a suggestion. You're using the 1.6 version right? So it's a problem with the official version that I (as well as others) can't seem to reproduce. It seems to be happening so far only for you?

So it's not a valid 1.7 suggestion if it's not even a known bug on 1.6.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:15 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Well because you reported a problem, not a suggestion. You're using the 1.6 version right? So it's a problem with the official version that I (as well as others) can't seem to reproduce. It seems to be happening so far only for you?

So it's not a valid 1.7 suggestion if it's not even a known bug on 1.6.
Good point, sorry.
But, that doesn't mean it doesn't still happen.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:23 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

It shouldn't happen. .5pj instead of .pj5 is totally bass-ackwards.

Is there a particular ROM this happens with, or have you noticed it happening with official games as well (not just messed up public domain ROMs with no image title and stuff)?

Also what if you try...
Options, Settings...
Advanced tab,
disable "Automatically compress instant saves" ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:28 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Is there a particular ROM this happens with, or have you noticed it happening with official games as well (not just messed up public domain ROMs with no image title and stuff)?
Well it happens with DK64 not sure about others.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
I

Also what if you try...
Options, Settings...
Advanced tab,
disable "Automatically compress instant saves" ?
I always do that (saves and loads faster)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:31 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Heh...I agree. I should disable that setting myself from now on. I've been having them zipped all along, but I've only had like everything else uncompressed and raw for faster loading. Now that you mention it I think I'm going to turn that off.

Well how about, testing this temporarily, have that option turned on instead of off to compress the native saves for now? With Mario64 or some other game? Then does that issue with naming the save extensions happen?

In the meantime I'm going to test without the compression like you've been doing and see if maybe there is a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:34 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post

In the meantime I'm going to test without the compression like you've been doing and see if maybe there is a bug.
May take you awhile it happens randomly. Note: I do not use a slot (to my knowledge, but I am pretty sure) and it does this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:43 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Yeah, it does take a while. I've probably hit F5 over 200 times in DK64 without save compression, and I'm still not seeing any #PJ files, just "*.PJ" since like you I haven't selected a save slot.

Is this something you can reproduce if you like, hit F5 to save (or hold it down to write them repeatedly and fast) and eventually generate an obscurely named file? Or you could only reproduce it gradually while playing the game harmoniously as you went along and eventually at points in the game get that weird file extension. See if you can just keep hitting F5 repeatedly or hold it down in the same area or something and get that weird extension.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 3rd June 2011, 10:29 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Yeah, it does take a while. I've probably hit F5 over 200 times in DK64 without save compression, and I'm still not seeing any #PJ files, just "*.PJ" since like you I haven't selected a save slot.

Is this something you can reproduce if you like, hit F5 to save (or hold it down to write them repeatedly and fast) and eventually generate an obscurely named file? Or you could only reproduce it gradually while playing the game harmoniously as you went along and eventually at points in the game get that weird file extension. See if you can just keep hitting F5 repeatedly or hold it down in the same area or something and get that weird extension.
I think it happens when you open PJ64 for the first time (meaning you if you want to find this problem you have to open PJ64 again every time you save).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 4th June 2011, 06:58 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Well man I haven't had any luck yet. The way I took what you said, I only used F5 right away after loading the ROM in Project64 (or wait a while until I get further into the game sometimes and then save), ended emulation, then restart and F5 again, etc..

Here's a small excerpt from the 1.4 source showing that it should just be PJ for the extension though. :/
Code:
sprintf(FileName,"%s.pj",SaveAsFileName);
sprintf(ZipFile,"%s.zip",SaveAsFileName);
Again, try testing just if it happens again, just with the compression turned on next time to see. Also try re-installing the RDB or using a separate but new installation of Project64.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.