Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 25th April 2013, 02:45 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Edit: Disregard, Killer instinct must have "fixed audio timing" otherwise the audio will be to fast.

Bomberman 64 still has some serious audio issues, hopefully FatCat can look into it.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way

Last edited by the_randomizer; 25th April 2013 at 03:01 AM.
  #22  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:19 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
You may want to updated the thread title whenever you update the plugin.

You actually may not be able to do that, I don't know
Yes, I want to change the thread title for each update and I can't.

But it is fine.
  #23  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:25 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
Yes, I want to change the thread title for each update and I can't.

But it is fine.
Have you ever had a chance to look at Bomberman 64? No plugin so far has been able to get rid of the sporadic audio skipping. I mean, it if isn't too much trouble to take a gander that is.

Other than that game, the plugin is awesome. Keep it up
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #24  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:37 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
Edit: Disregard, Killer instinct must have "fixed audio timing" otherwise the audio will be to fast.

Bomberman 64 still has some serious audio issues, hopefully FatCat can look into it.
Two questions:

(1) I can't get this game boot for both v1.6 and v2.0 even with NoVideo plugin. What are your settings and the plugins that you use?

(2) Did you uncheck both "Fixed Audio Timeing" and "Sync using Audio" game settings if you think the audio timing is too fast?

if you have both setting unchecked, then you will have fixed 60 fps.

If you unchechked the "Fixed Audio Timing" and Keep "Sync using Audio" then my audio plugin will cache audio data as much as possible and return to main CPU immediately. So the frame rate may be higher than 60, just like overclocked.

Last edited by shunyuan; 25th April 2013 at 04:47 AM.
  #25  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:46 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
Have you ever had a chance to look at Bomberman 64? No plugin so far has been able to get rid of the sporadic audio skipping. I mean, it if isn't too much trouble to take a gander that is.
If the game frame rate drops below 20 or the frame rate is very unstable, no matter what causes it, the audio data will severely underrun. Under this situation, very little can do for audio plugin.

If the slow down caused by graphics rendering is fixed, I guess the audio problem will also disappear at the same time.
  #26  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:53 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
If the game frame rate drops below 20 or the frame rate is very unstable, no matter what causes it, the audio data will severely underrun. Under this situation, very little can do for audio plugin.

If the slow down caused by graphics rendering is fixed, I guess the audio problem will also disappear at the same time.
There's no slowdown, the framerate is indeed 60 fps, there's just audio skipping every two seconds. This happens on PJ64 1.6 as well.

http://filetrip.net/dl?GXgYqwnfX4

Here's a wav sample I recorded.

Again, the framerate is full, so no slowdown. If you opened it up in a program like Audacity, you can see the gaps in the spectrogram if you zoom in.

Summary

Full speed
No slowdown
Audio skipping every ~2 seconds
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #27  
Old 25th April 2013, 04:57 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
There's no slowdown, the framerate is indeed 60 fps, there's just audio skipping every two seconds. This happens on PJ64 1.6 as well.

http://filetrip.net/dl?GXgYqwnfX4

Here's a wav sample I recorded.

Again, the framerate is full, so no slowdown. If you opened it up in a program like Audacity, you can see the gaps in the spectrogram if you zoom in.

Summary

Full speed
No slowdown
Audio skipping every ~2 seconds
Thanks, your information is very helpful. I am looking my code to figure the bug.
  #28  
Old 25th April 2013, 05:00 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
Thanks, your information is very helpful. I am looking my code to figure the bug.
Let me know if you need any more info. If I came across as being demanding or overbearing in that post, I apologize
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #29  
Old 25th April 2013, 01:38 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by et500 View Post
Finally I found some time to have a short look on version 1.2. Audio quality is OK so far, but I get a lot of crackling in Zelda OOT.

HLE audio crackles on the sound played when opening a savegame and LLE audio crackles on the sound when opening the menu by pressing the start button. All in all LLE audio crackes less than HLE audio using your plug-in.

To sum it up, Azimers plugin still provides much better quality because it does not crackle in any of these situations.

Also while using your plugin in Banjo Kazooie, the music volume gets turned down when fighting or collecting an item, I never experienced this on a real console. This also happens with Azimers plugin but it is not as obvious there.
I have modified my functions to handle audio data overrun and underrun situation, now Zelda OOT sound crackles should fixed.
  #30  
Old 25th April 2013, 01:42 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
There's no slowdown, the framerate is indeed 60 fps, there's just audio skipping every two seconds. This happens on PJ64 1.6 as well.

http://filetrip.net/dl?GXgYqwnfX4

Here's a wav sample I recorded.

Again, the framerate is full, so no slowdown. If you opened it up in a program like Audacity, you can see the gaps in the spectrogram if you zoom in.

Summary

Full speed
No slowdown
Audio skipping every ~2 seconds
I rewrite the code to handle audio data underrun and overrun. Please help me to verify if the new build fixed the audio skipping problem of Bomberman 64.

Thanks.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.