Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th May 2013, 06:04 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default Need help for Killer Instinct Gold (U) (v1.1)

I tested this game on project64 2.1 with PJglide64 and default settings.

The game is stuck when booting, no video and audio. The game database said this game has plugin issue, slow in vdieo. But I can't make it run. Change to use Glide64 final and Jabo D3D8 still don't work.

Any suggestion or working settings?
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th May 2013, 06:15 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Are you running the game in LLE gfx or HLE gfx?

Is the CPU interpreter affected as much as the dynarec?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th May 2013, 06:21 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Are you running the game in LLE gfx or HLE gfx?

Is the CPU interpreter affected as much as the dynarec?
HLE gfx, since PJglide64 doesn't support LLE gfx.

What do you mean "Is the CPU interpreter affected as much as the dynarec?", I have no idea at all.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th May 2013, 06:42 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I mean if you edit the game settings to CPU core style -- "Interpreter" :: "Recompiler", both settings have the issue equally.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th May 2013, 07:16 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
I mean if you edit the game settings to CPU core style -- "Interpreter" :: "Recompiler", both settings have the issue equally.
No, the default CPU core style is recompiler, I didn't change the setting. Actually I didn't touch any rom setting for this game.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2013, 10:23 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Default core style for the CPU should almost always be Recompiler.
That's why the Interpreter option is provided for you to test a more stable CPU core.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th May 2013, 02:42 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Default core style for the CPU should almost always be Recompiler.
That's why the Interpreter option is provided for you to test a more stable CPU core.
Thanks for the reply, but I still have problems to run Killer Instinct Gold.

Here are my settings and the result, what settings should I change next?





__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th May 2013, 02:52 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

a) Have you also disabled "32-bit core" in the config page just above that?
(Eh, I think that's been set in the RDB already anyway.)
b) You're not using any of my LLE gfx RSP plugins right? It should be RSP 1.7.0.9 by zilmar or the HLE versions of my RSP if you want to use PJGlide / Jabo.


Past that though, not sure at all really what the issue is there.
I do realize there were times the dynarec broke K.I. Gold then zilmar fixed it, then it broke, then it fixed again ... blah blah. If it broke again I don't know it; sorry I haven't had the time off coding to install the latest version and check everything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th May 2013, 03:01 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
a) Have you also disabled "32-bit core" in the config page just above that?
(Eh, I think that's been set in the RDB already anyway.)
b) You're not using any of my LLE gfx RSP plugins right? It should be RSP 1.7.0.9 by zilmar or the HLE versions of my RSP if you want to use PJGlide / Jabo.


Past that though, not sure at all really what the issue is there.
I do realize there were times the dynarec broke K.I. Gold then zilmar fixed it, then it broke, then it fixed again ... blah blah. If it broke again I don't know it; sorry I haven't had the time off coding to install the latest version and check everything.
Thanks.

if I choose CPU type to interpreter, did there still have dynarec in use?

my question is, if the CPU core switch to interpreter, did the dynamic compiling of N64 game to x86 instructions still in use?

--- Edit ------
I use your LLE RSP and disable 32 bit core (engine), tested with z64gl with LLE graphics and PJglid64 with HLE graphics, I still can't boot this game. I guess I need skip this game for sound testing.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit

Last edited by shunyuan; 10th May 2013 at 03:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th May 2013, 03:06 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

"Dynarec" is an abbreviation for "dynamic re-compile".

An interpreter emulates a CPU's instruction cache on a linear, step-by-step instruction graduation process. Easier to keep track of cycles and timing among other accuracies.

A dynamic recompiler only invokes methods to generate the compiled/assembled Intel x86 (in this case) code to the instruction cache on the host machine (our PC) used to emulate the target machine (the N64), then executes that code block directly without calling a function each time.

Interpreter is more stable, usually more accurate, and avoids more issues/bugs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.