Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 16th August 2013, 04:56 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shunyuan View Post
In other words, you don't know these input API at all.
Yep.

In my post I told you I "asked" squall about RawInput and if it would be a better successor to DirectInput than XInput was.
He said that most devices wouldn't even support it. =[

So I believed him.
I didn't lecture him that RawInput was better than DirectInput, because obviously as you were able to determine, I have no experience with either.

So why don't I do it in RawInput?
Because I believed squall that it would not work as universally as DirectInput.
Why don't I do it in XInput?
Even worse, since it only supports Xbox stuff.

There are like, tens of DirectInput plugins already.
I would feel pretty arrogant for starting to make one of my own.
The only really portable method for controller input that I have heard, is to use SDL, so that's why I am invested in this experiment.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th August 2013, 06:55 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Ah, and one other thing worth mentioning that I forget.

Which I remember since you seem so angry at MarathonMan for focusing on developing for Linux and not confining himself to Microsoft restraints like you do:

Is that DirectX is gradually becoming too restrictive, volatile, and kludgy.

I don't need any experience with older layers like DirectInput to find that.
You only need to know Windows to know that, and the Component Object Model, and DirectDraw is enough practice.

And it is forced to only one OS, so if your feelings for one exact OS are what makes you so mad at MarathonMan for, like you, dev'ing on 1 OS but a different one (but I can perfectly understand you being mad at me ), drop your superiority complex and learn to blend in a little, otherwise you're probably better off just sticking to input plugins and shiz imo.

However, the type of plugins you do seem to go hand-in-hand with zilmar's future pursuits, so I imagine you will be successful at helping Project64 at least, provided he doesn't try to feed off mortal vain/jealousy/arrogance to the point of not recognizing your talent.

Time to snooze
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th August 2013, 04:33 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default Broken 'New MemPak/Browse'

Under Controller Pak > Raw Data > Mem Pak, click 'New MemPak/Browse' button and Project64 2.1.0.1 closes with no error.

It works fine in 2.3b.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th August 2013, 05:41 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
Under Controller Pak > Raw Data > Mem Pak, click 'New MemPak/Browse' button and Project64 2.1.0.1 closes with no error.

It works fine in 2.3b.

Cheers.
I will take a look.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th August 2013, 07:52 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Fix1: * fix crash at (New memPak/Browse) button
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24th August 2013, 08:01 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shunyuan View Post
Fix1: * fix crash at (New memPak/Browse) button
Wow, that was quick, and it works a treat.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th August 2013, 10:48 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BatCat View Post
Ah, and one other thing worth mentioning that I forget.

Which I remember since you seem so angry at MarathonMan for focusing on developing for Linux and not confining himself to Microsoft restraints like you do:

Is that DirectX is gradually becoming too restrictive, volatile, and kludgy.

I don't need any experience with older layers like DirectInput to find that.
You only need to know Windows to know that, and the Component Object Model, and DirectDraw is enough practice.

And it is forced to only one OS, so if your feelings for one exact OS are what makes you so mad at MarathonMan for, like you, dev'ing on 1 OS but a different one (but I can perfectly understand you being mad at me ), drop your superiority complex and learn to blend in a little, otherwise you're probably better off just sticking to input plugins and shiz imo.

However, the type of plugins you do seem to go hand-in-hand with zilmar's future pursuits, so I imagine you will be successful at helping Project64 at least, provided he doesn't try to feed off mortal vain/jealousy/arrogance to the point of not recognizing your talent.

Time to snooze
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 6th September 2013, 10:17 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
Under Controller Pak > Raw Data > Mem Pak, click 'New MemPak/Browse' button and Project64 2.1.0.1 closes with no error.

It works fine in 2.3b.

Cheers.
this i s because the op edited the RC file using the vs ide, which breaks file types for some reason.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 7th September 2013, 11:42 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
this i s because the op edited the RC file using the vs ide, which breaks file types for some reason.
Nope, access violation caused by this line of code.

__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 7th September 2013, 03:29 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
this i s because the op edited the RC file using the vs ide, which breaks file types for some reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.