#1  
Old 30th March 2013, 08:40 PM
achan070 achan070 is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default Which audio plugin to use?

I'm using PJ64 1.7 and the default audio plugin it comes with has bad sound quality. I can't tick the "Use High Lvl Audio" because I need a third party audio plugin.

Which audio plugin is the best and where can I get it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st March 2013, 06:17 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
default audio plugin it comes with has bad sound quality
No it doesn't. Your shitty audio hardware has bad sound quality.

Azimer's is the only HLE audio plugin.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2013, 06:50 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by achan070 View Post
I'm using PJ64 1.7 and the default audio plugin it comes with has bad sound quality. I can't tick the "Use High Lvl Audio" because I need a third party audio plugin.

Which audio plugin is the best and where can I get it?
Default sound plugin is sufficient for all the games I've tested in the latest beta. Zilmar has rewritten a majority of the emulator code (which includes the RSP), most, if not all audio popping is gone. Your hardware is clearly at fault.

Don't believe me? I'm more than willing to provide tests to refute anything to the contrary.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th April 2013, 08:48 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
Azimer's is the only HLE audio plugin.
Well there is Nemu64.

There's also UltraHLE/schibo, 1964 Audio Plugin (the LLE version was based on zilmar's audio, HLE wasn't), I think TR64 Audio was HLE too?

Meh, who cares.

Azimer's is pretty flexible though; it uses LLE if the RSP tells it to, even though it's called Audio HLE.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th April 2013, 10:59 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Well there is Nemu64.

There's also UltraHLE/schibo, 1964 Audio Plugin (the LLE version was based on zilmar's audio, HLE wasn't), I think TR64 Audio was HLE too?

Meh, who cares.

Azimer's is pretty flexible though; it uses LLE if the RSP tells it to, even though it's called Audio HLE.

Though it tends to affect the VI/s in a lot of games (bogs certain games down for some reason).
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th April 2013, 11:09 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Azimer?

It tends to do that on 1.7 to 2.0 but not 1.6.
Something got changed to break the FPS limiter from going free effectively.

I usually disable Emulate/Simulate AI which forces the speed limit even more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2013, 02:45 PM
VodkaEagle's Avatar
VodkaEagle VodkaEagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Personally, I use Azimer's in Project64 v2.0.0.14, and I do notice an increase in quality. Although when I first started my journey with this emulator, I did enjoy the default audio plugin. Although all the computers I have played on that had audio issues with the emulator usually resulted in either low ram, bad audio codecs/drivers, or just crappy on-board audio chips that weren't installed right to begin with. Although I would seriously try Azimer's and see if you have any more audio issues. If it's just a corrupted plugin (That happened to me once. Had to redownload.) then there's your problem.
__________________
My Favorite Emulators (w/Games)

1. Project 64
Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask

2. Dolphin
Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (GC & Wii)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2013, 04:00 PM
et500 et500 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 113
Default

Since many years I also always use Azimer HLE Audio 0.56 WIP2 in non-HLE mode, it is extremely stable and reliable, has the best quality, and works with any game so far without any problems known to me.

All other plug-ins are a mess to configure and often cause problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th April 2013, 06:57 AM
Azimer Azimer is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Give my new plugin a try with PJ v2.0. I started work on it last year but thought with 2.0 being public I would disable what isn't finished and get something out.

I am not happy with some of the PJ 2.0 changes vs 1.6 for handling audio. It seems when you disable Audio Timing and Audio Sync in the emulator and let the audio plugin do the AI emulation it seems to be comparable to 1.6.

I would provide a download link but the forum isn't letting me until I post more. You can find it in the Apollo forum on EmuTalk or on the apollo website.

Edit:
Feed Back Thread at EmuTalk
Download hosted by Emulation64

Last edited by Azimer; 24th April 2013 at 05:33 PM. Reason: Added URLs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th April 2013, 11:31 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

Az, you got 5 posts now, so you can post links, I just need to approve them

yes your right disabling those two settings make the emu work the same as 1.6 does.

I originally worked on them so I could get good netplay that did not de-sync .. wanted that working correctly before I started on netplay, but I still have not gotten to netplay yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.