#1  
Old 15th May 2013, 02:13 AM
wildgoosespeeder's Avatar
wildgoosespeeder wildgoosespeeder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 156
Lightbulb 64dd

Are there any plans to attempt to emulate 64DD?
__________________
PLEASE PM ME WITH YOUR MESSENGER SCREEN NAME BEFORE ADDING ME TO YOUR BUDDY LIST OR ELSE I IGNORE THE BUDDY LIST REQUEST!

Mozilla FireFox and The Angry Video Game Nerd aren't gods.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th May 2013, 02:30 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Plenty of them outside of Project64.

You would have to find somebody interested outside of the Project64 Team.
Or, maybe some pointers to documentation and such, which might provoke existing 64 emudevs into extending for 64DD with that info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2013, 11:30 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,660
Default

The bios boots :3 (have fun finding it XD)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2013, 03:53 PM
wildgoosespeeder's Avatar
wildgoosespeeder wildgoosespeeder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
The bios boots :3 (have fun finding it XD)
I've had it for years from a topic here long ago.
__________________
PLEASE PM ME WITH YOUR MESSENGER SCREEN NAME BEFORE ADDING ME TO YOUR BUDDY LIST OR ELSE I IGNORE THE BUDDY LIST REQUEST!

Mozilla FireFox and The Angry Video Game Nerd aren't gods.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2013, 04:34 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgoosespeeder View Post
I've had it for years from a topic here long ago.
*looks *
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th May 2013, 04:46 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

(Also.)


Duplicate thread.
64DD has been asked about tens of times; I just felt like being the one to answer this time since I don't remember all the other declinations everyone else posted in all those other threads.

I would say, what we're really missing is an accurate N64 emulator.
That should be the focus for now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th May 2013, 05:06 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
(Also.)


Duplicate thread.
64DD has been asked about tens of times; I just felt like being the one to answer this time since I don't remember all the other declinations everyone else posted in all those other threads.

I would say, what we're really missing is an accurate N64 emulator.
That should be the focus for now.
The real question is, can an N64 emulator be highly accurate without requiring an overclocked Core i7 Extreme to attain full speed?
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th May 2013, 05:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
The real question is, can an N64 emulator be highly accurate without requiring an overclocked Core i7 Extreme to attain full speed?
The thing about accuracy, is that it's always nice to achieve it using hardware and not software.

The less you have to do in software, the less things you have to override and check for timing/cycle-accuracy all the time, and also in a sense the more accurate it is.

I guess that's why some emulators have a mid-cycle-accurate approach, like, flow through naturally pretending it's naturally as well-timed as the actual hardware, but check for timing differences to go back to correct or something.

So it is possible for something to be both accurate and really fast; it's just not a very fun goal when the hardware is so different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.