Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th October 2012, 08:35 PM
TheViper4Life's Avatar
TheViper4Life TheViper4Life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default Problems with Zelda: OoT

I didn't know where else to post this, so move it if need be.

The thing is, I've been playing Zelda: Ocarina of Time recently and have come across a few problems, for starters I've noticed certain graphics in the game have been disappearing, namely trails to walk on or Triforce symbols on the ground...now I assumed it was the graphics card, but this Laptop is somewhat new (year and half or so old) and I can't imagine a graphics card in this day and age not being able to support N64 data. It's not a HUGE deal, but does get annoying.

Another, is I turned a cheat on the other day, then decided not to use it...it was the cheat for infinite timers, and that split second I had it on seemed to give me double magic, and when I got to the Forest Temple and got the very first "Small Key" it said I had 10 of them. And in doing so, within this temple I am unable to move the large blocks that are needed to proceed, which I have a feeling happened because of this said cheat.

I was wondering if, by now, there were any remedies to any of this?

Also: I was looking for the save file for OoT, but when I go into Project 64's save folder only Mario Kart 64 is in there yet the save still loads on the emulator just fine. Where do I locate this on my computer at (I have Windows 7)?

Thanks in advance, and I apologize if this is in the wrong section.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st October 2012, 01:31 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Cheats tend to glitch alot like that XD, what is your graphics card anyway? If it is some kind of integrated intel that's the problem and I believe if you use Rice's video plugin it should be fixed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2012, 05:00 PM
TheViper4Life's Avatar
TheViper4Life TheViper4Life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

It is an integrated Intel...that's still a problem for a fairly new computer?

What is Rice's video plug-in?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2012, 07:16 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

O hey look what happens when I google it!!1!

butt serosly:
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Rice%27s+video+plug-in
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd October 2012, 11:53 PM
TheViper4Life's Avatar
TheViper4Life TheViper4Life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Wow had to be an asshole about it huh? Couldn't just post a simple link. Whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th October 2012, 12:02 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Rumor has it from some of Jabo's notes that it is possible the plugin itself could be responsible for texture thrashing and creating those [missing] artifacts you were mentioning. I would link you to the updated plugin if you could, but yeah it's a relatively good idea to try Rice's Video Plugin for situations where it could also be the card.

Actually I just learned someone I was in contact with had a laptop about a year old, that had a standard Intel Graphics chip, really old. I don't know why.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th October 2012, 02:04 AM
TheViper4Life's Avatar
TheViper4Life TheViper4Life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Well I have Rice's video Plugin installed and there's not a bit of difference. I have them set up in the PJ64 folder, in a "Plugin" sub folder, do I need to take them out of there or something?

Last edited by TheViper4Life; 24th October 2012 at 02:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th October 2012, 04:07 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

Its caused by the fact your graphics chip does not have a pixel shader (it simulates one using a software compiler).

The same problems can be replicated on a Geforce 2 or 4 MX card which after Forceware 50, had the Pixel shader simulation removed.

the D3D6 plugin should work.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th October 2012, 04:29 AM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
O hey look what happens when I google it!!1!

butt serosly:
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Rice%27s+video+plug-in
I found a better link. Rice

But really, sometimes it's just simpler to get the word from another guy straight, instead of searching, even if searching would get your answers faster. :L
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th October 2012, 12:02 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

I can't help it if people are to lazy to google things XD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.