Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Cheats

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 12th August 2014, 09:12 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

Any and all builds of 1964 are insanely unstable on my PC for some reason.
I am on AMD Single Core CPU and Nvidia GPU.
I wished they worked correctly for me.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 12th August 2014, 09:28 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Any and all builds of 1964 are insanely unstable on my PC for some reason.
I am on AMD Single Core CPU and Nvidia GPU.
I wished they worked correctly for me.
Single core shouldn't matter since n64 emulators are only single core.

Have you tried Ultrafast V3? If so, what's wrong with it?
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 13th August 2014, 02:31 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

I found out my "no frameskip" code does not work so well when set to 0000.
Changing it to 0001 made it run a lot more stable,but it still gets
spazzy over-throttling that causes major frameskipping and the game
to run too fast.

If I use overclocked speeds,it smoothens out a bit more but freeze-frames more often and I also get major input delay,even after releasing the input.
Banjo aimlessly continues walking a bit after I released forward.

I just can't find a fix for the too fast/skippy issue.
It is actually a listed issue in the normal 1964 Google code pages since 2012.

I even managed to get an RSP selected after pasting my arsenal of them.
I also have NRage input which helps a little,and Jabo 1.5.2 for better performance since OpenGL Rice hates 1964 with glitchy seizure-inducing greenism.

I think 1964 Ultrafast V3 is having major data leaks because my PC slowed to a crawl in several tries where the last one was SO bad that it caused my entire screen to go black with only the mouse remaining and only moving at 1 frame per every few seconds.
It happens whenever I click the menus to access overclocking or plugins. (probably any menu triggers it)

Last edited by retroben; 13th August 2014 at 02:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 13th August 2014, 05:00 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Pardon me. I guess Ultrafast isn't as "stable" as I thought it would be. For me there's no issue, but your hardware seems more problematic.

Anyway, probably the most stable version for you will be 1964 1.2 r146, because I believe your issue has to do with GUI forcing the emulator to pause. Too bad 1964 1.2 r146 is slower than Ultrafast.

Odd thing is I can't even run Banjo Kazooie on Ultrafast V3.

It sure pays off to compile programs myself. eZ gui fixes .

I don't think I have this "freeze-frames" issue nor do I have input delay.

With 1964 1.1 (compiled myself), 1964 Video DX9 (also compiled myself), Azimer's HLE audio, RSP (none), I get 60 fps at that exact spot in your savestate and like 13% idle of emulator cpu usage. Pays off to compile things yourself. Quick fixes come a long way.

I'm willing to bet you're not even using the best opengl version of Rice/1964 Video. There's one from like 2012 that's better than all the old ones. If I could find the source, I bet it would become even better, due to using better compiler settings. The DX9 version's better anyway .
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 13th August 2014, 06:31 AM
emusa emusa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Just mention a game that you notice a choppy framerate in.
Using PJ64 2.1.0.1 (or Fruit Edition) is a must,because older versions are nowhere near as smooth.

First,try various settings to prove that it has a weak framerate in the game itself.
Set the game's counter factor to 1 and RDRAM (expansion pak) to 8MB.
If the VI refresh rate is 1500,change it to 2200 for a smoother framerate.

After these things,change the speed display to DLists so the framerate is your actual FPS instead of 60VI/s.
If the Dlists read 20 in speed,the game is running at potentially 20fps.
DLists accelerate to the main speed instead of going to 100% instantly.

Tip:HLE Audio messes with your framerate smoothness because it causes you to drop frames.
Uncheck/untick "High Level Audio?" to smoothen the framerate.
LLE is usually the default Audio setting which works in basically all Audio plugins.
Shunyuan's plugin for Audio is actually the best for at least Banjo-Tooie,it even has uber-high quality with no slowdowns.
Jet Force Gemini has slowdowns, but I think it's locked to 30fps - it just drops a lot. If only I would be able to play it in 1964 Ultrafast V3, I bet the drops wouldn't appear. But the audio glitches (with ALL plugins I know) are unbearable in Ultrafast.

By the way, 1964 Ultrafast V3 is pretty stable for me with Perfect Dark, GoldenEye, Duck Dodgers, Earthworm Jim 3D, Turok 2 & 3. Really does wonders for the framerate; perfect @60 for goldeneye, Perfect Dark, Duck Dodgers and a rocksteady @30fps for Turoks 2&3 and Earthworm Jim 3D.

I say pretty stable, because it does do some weird stuff when exiting games and starting new roms, changing settings without restarting the emu. But when I start the emu and just play a game - it's great.

Thanks I will try your suggested settings! Also Shunyuan's audio - although I didn't read to many great things about it. I mostly use Azimers 0.70 WIP (HLE) and it's very good.

Last edited by emusa; 13th August 2014 at 06:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 13th August 2014, 08:34 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

RPGMaster,you wouldn't mind sending me a copy of your compiled build including the compiled 1964 DX9 Plugin,would you?

Will it run as fast/faster than Glide64 for me,or lag horrendously like Rice 0.3.0?

Last edited by retroben; 13th August 2014 at 08:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 13th August 2014, 08:45 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Do you even have SSE2 support? Otherwise I'd have to compile it again. Idk about sending you my 1964 build, but I can send the DX9 plugin. It's the fastest plugin for my machine.

Haha, i forgot I did a lot of hacky things in 1964 1.1, like a bootleg on the fly plugin swap. I'll have to make another project, and port over all my stable fixes while not adding the hacky stuff.

When I actually accomplish something other than minor optimizations and GUI fixes, I may upload the emulator.

It will certainly run faster than both Glide64 and Rice 0.30.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 13th August 2014, 08:57 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

PJ64 shows SSE2 2.1.2 on the end after my Nvidia card in the status bar when starting a game.

I have SSE2 and SSE3,just not the one that CEN64 requires to run Zelda. (SSSE3)

Pointing out three "S" instead of two. (S-S-S E3)

Last edited by retroben; 13th August 2014 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 19th August 2014, 08:57 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

I made a stronger fastest game code for SM64.

Super Mario 64 (U)

Gotta Go Fast
A024810C 0000
A0248154 0000
First line is one I found,and last line is the already existing code.

Edit:Remember to have the code enabled before the game is started,or hard reset to get it working.

Edit2:I can't even reach 60VI/s in-game with this one!!! LOL!

Rice 6.1.1 goes crazy with this SM64 code like in other emulators running Banjo-Tooie.

Jabo is the fastest.
You can gain about 10VI/s on the 1.6.1 plugin with "Use Direct3D transformation pipeline" enabled.

Last edited by retroben; 19th August 2014 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 20th August 2014, 07:59 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 686
Default

I broke it.

Something Looks Different
8024741B 0001

Super Mario 64 (U)

Go in-game for more differences.
It only affects certain areas. (Bob-omb Battlefield and some others look normal.)

Edit:

Mario Head Positions
810F70D4 3F80
Rotate upward for a surprise.

Too Close Head
810F70D8 4380
A close-up ya jerk,A CLOSE-UP!

Last edited by retroben; 21st August 2014 at 01:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.