Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 9th June 2014, 10:49 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

I still get weak Banjo-Tooie performance on glide because the D3D side of mine sucks when compared to OpenGL performance in Mudlord's 6.1.4 Rice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th June 2014, 11:03 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
I still get weak Banjo-Tooie performance on glide because the D3D side of mine sucks when compared to OpenGL performance in Mudlord's 6.1.4 Rice.
Can you do me a favor and enable an option called show CPU usage %. I'm curious what the actual difference is between OGL and D3D for Rice's plugin. Let me know the average % usage for each one.

Obviously Rice's plugin will be faster than Glide no matter what though. Only plugin that beats Rice in performance is Jabo 1.52 but that one's even less accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th June 2014, 11:06 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
I still get weak Banjo-Tooie performance on glide because the D3D side of mine sucks when compared to OpenGL performance in Mudlord's 6.1.4 Rice.

The only thing needing to be done on nGlide is to set it to the following

"Run the nGlideXXX_setup.exe and click Install button. That's all. You can now play your 3Dfx Glide games. "

With these settings


Also..I will try fiddling around in Banjo-Tooie to see what is going on there as it could be a few settings for Glide64 are causing the issue...Unchecking "Read Every Frame" in theGlide64 plugin "Emulation Settings" tab and check "Use Frame Buffer Objects" and uncheck "VRAM Autodetect" and set that to how much VRAM your computer has in the "Basic Settings" tab. nGlide is a wrapper, not a plugin...so just let its intaller install it to its default install location.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx

Last edited by Wally123; 9th June 2014 at 11:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th June 2014, 03:12 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Use these settings...only match the VRAM setting to however much VRAM your computer has...and use a resolution of 1360x768.

http://imgur.com/OvN2QNA,8czUs7z,Ynl...vGqh,tcpLYoX#0
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th June 2014, 08:26 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

Should of mentioned I am using my no frameskip code as usual.
I get full 60FPS and 60VI on Mudlord Rice while Glide slows to a crawl.
The only place with slowdown is Hailfire Peaks,and that only goes down to a barely noticable 49FPS.

Using the DirectX mode of Rice gives me major slowdown in HF-P.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10th June 2014, 08:43 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Should of mentioned I am using my no frameskip code as usual.
I get full 60FPS and 60VI on Mudlord Rice while Glide slows to a crawl.
The only place with slowdown is Hailfire Peaks,and that only goes down to a barely noticable 49FPS.

Using the DirectX mode of Rice gives me major slowdown in HF-P.
That's weird because I don't get a frame rate drop...I'm using Project64 2.1 with the Glide plugin that was installed with Project64 2.1. I'm not using 1964/Rice video...I would try making sure that the checked boxes match those in the screen shots...I get a frame drop to 45FPS only when the Read Every Frame option is checked on most games. Try lowering the resolution to 1360x768. As for Banjo-Tooie, I get no frame drop at all...I'm using the US ROM...Also, if you're an nVidia user, make sure to update your graphics drivers...A lot was fixed.

Also, you likely tried using nGlide's DLL file in PJ64's root directory or in PJ64's plugins folder when you should've just let it install itself in Windows.

The code might be doing it too...try not using it with my settings under Glide64 from PJ642.1..and see what happens.

Also, would you mind posting the code you used?
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx

Last edited by Wally123; 10th June 2014 at 08:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10th June 2014, 09:15 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

You must remember that different computers have very different results.
I have an Nvidia Geforce 6150SE nForce 430 card that can only be clocked up to 555MHz,and I have it set to a solid 500MHz.
And my PC has been through a lot of viruses and other bad things,but it is still going pretty strong.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10th June 2014, 09:25 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
You must remember that different computers have very different results.
Bingo. That's the #1 reason why I don't use glide often.

Rice beta is faster than Mudlords rice I think. Did you ever do the tests between Direct X and OpenGL? That show cpu usage % option is very useful.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10th June 2014, 09:27 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 687
Default

Got Ninja'd

Sorry about the wait RPGMaster.
I couldn't find the bloody CPU usage option.

In OpenGL mode (fastest),I managed to get a "peak" of 72% in GFX and 50VI when on the HF-P Ledge above the Oil Rig.

Will edit in miserable results for both Rice DX and two Jabo D3D versions.
(1.52 and 1.6.1)

Edit:Forgot to mention VI at the time.

Rice DX is actually pretty fast,but it went to 81% in GFX on the same area but with a measly 36VI.

Edit in Jabo soon.

Last edited by retroben; 10th June 2014 at 09:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10th June 2014, 09:32 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroben View Post
Got Ninja'd

Sorry about the wait RPGMaster.
I couldn't find the bloody CPU usage option.

In OpenGL mode (fastest),I managed to get a "peak" of 72.0% in GFX when on the HF-P Ledge above the Oil Rig while R4300i stayed around 20-40% usage.

Will edit in miserable results for both Rice DX and two Jabo D3D versions.
(1.52 and 1.6.1)
Those numbers sound way too high, although the GFX part may just be because of the game. First of all, what emulator are you using? I will try running Banjo Tooie right now to see the speeds I'd get. I know my computer is probably stronger than yours, but 40% sounds too high for recompiler.

What are you CPU specs? I'm just curious about your processor.

Also, how does Jabo 1.52 compare to Mudlord's Rice?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.