Old 15th October 2016, 08:26 PM

Default Help! - How to use the P64 Debugger ?

Hey Y'all,

I'm a novice programmer and New to N64 Programming..... just messing around a bit with NUSystem libraries.

I'm wanting to test out the Project64 debugger. I'm wondering if there is a Guide that explains things a bit? There are many of the Debugger menus that I don't really understand just yet.

I am wanting to see a Debug window that can display the code execution in real time. Some of the other debuggers I've used for Sega SMS programming in ASM code, they had this type of feature.

It could also allow you to execute one line of code at a time... and see how it navigates through your program.

Does the debugger in P64 work the same way? if so how do I activate the Debug window?

Sorry if this seems really basic......I'm a Rookie at all this.

Any help would be appreciated.
Cheers!
-Gib
Old 15th October 2016, 08:56 PM
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter

IIRC the debuggers in Project64 have been removed for years for some reason. Maybe they were added back for the R4300 and I'm just not aware of it now, but any time I tried it that caused a breakpoint. The RSP debugger within the plugin has always worked though. I can explain that if you like.

Have you ever used Nemu64? That's still kind of unanimously the only N64 emulator out there with as much debugging feature as it has. I don't know that it has the real-time display that you mentioned, but I'm sure a few pplz are still on EFNet who could walk you through it.
Old 15th October 2016, 09:48 PM

Default RE: Help! - How to use the P64 Debugger ?

Quote:
The RSP debugger within the plugin has always worked though. I can explain that if you like.
That would be awesome if you could.....just to get me started...

Quote:
Have you ever used Nemu64?
No I have yet to try it.... is there a link for that you could pass me?
Or is it a simple google search?

I just don't want to end up with a bogus version.

-Gib