Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th September 2015, 11:06 AM
Notshane Notshane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Default Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon and Input Problems

Alright, I have just about had it here. I have searched and searched for many months trying to figure out the problem with this game. But if that was not enough, there seems to be no solid plugin that can function with the C-Buttons on my controller, have good analog range and peripheral functionality (memory pak, rumble pak, etc) AND IT IS BUGGING ME SO MUCH!!!

I am talking about these threads that had no real resolve:

http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=141
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=2839

So, this thread has to be the one to put an end to this nonsense.

Is there a solid way to run this game on the most recent Project 64 without any form of lag and not have the audio glitch up at all?

And, does anyone know of a plugin that allows for peripheral selection, functional C-Buttons and proper analog range?
  #2  
Old 21st September 2015, 04:43 AM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Provided that your hardware is capable enough: PJ64 1.6.1 at CF=1, Glide64Final, Shunyuan's audio plugin, HatCat's MLE RSP plugin will do the trick. As for the peripherals I don't know, I never play any game with other thing that the keyboard, I abandoned console controllers 17 years ago and don't regret a bit of it...

Shunyuan's audio must be set to use XAudio2 not Directsound

Here, paste this into your Project64.rdb:
Code:
[FCBCCB21-72903C6B-C:45]
Good Name=Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon
Internal Name=MYSTICAL NINJA
RDRAM Size=8
Counter Factor=1
Save Type=First Save Type
CPU Type=Recompiler
Self-modifying code Method=Change Memory
Reg Cache=Yes
Use TLB=Yes
Delay SI=No
Audio Signal=No
SP Hack=No
Use Large Buffer=No
Linking=Off
Status=Compatible
Core Note=
Plugin Note=

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 21st September 2015 at 04:54 AM.
  #3  
Old 21st September 2015, 02:40 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Use Azimer's XAudio.
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2015, 01:45 AM
Notshane Notshane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
Provided that your hardware is capable enough: PJ64 1.6.1 at CF=1, Glide64Final, Shunyuan's audio plugin, HatCat's MLE RSP plugin will do the trick. As for the peripherals I don't know, I never play any game with other thing that the keyboard, I abandoned console controllers 17 years ago and don't regret a bit of it...

Shunyuan's audio must be set to use XAudio2 not Directsound

Here, paste this into your Project64.rdb:
Code:
[FCBCCB21-72903C6B-C:45]
Good Name=Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon
Internal Name=MYSTICAL NINJA
RDRAM Size=8
Counter Factor=1
Save Type=First Save Type
CPU Type=Recompiler
Self-modifying code Method=Change Memory
Reg Cache=Yes
Use TLB=Yes
Delay SI=No
Audio Signal=No
SP Hack=No
Use Large Buffer=No
Linking=Off
Status=Compatible
Core Note=
Plugin Note=
I have been looking for a while and can not find the emulator or the plugins. I do not trust Project 64 installers anymore ever since I had to restore my freaking computer every time I did one.

Also, by peripherals, I meant setting the controller plugin to "Memory Pak" as Darkman's plugin did not have such an option, preventing me from saving in Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon at all as the result. It has the analog range I need and the C-Buttons work, but of course it had to lack the option for peripherals.

If possible, it would be great to have a controller plugin that allows me to insert a Rumble Pak and actually use it as well. I know some only let you select one or the other, but it would be great if the emulator can do the Memory Pak, but I can also activate a Rumble Pak as well. I think it could work.

Last edited by Notshane; 22nd September 2015 at 01:49 AM.
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2015, 03:22 AM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Just be happy this game is emulated, I personally only use N-Rage v2 2.3c with the Memory Pak selected as addon, I dont miss the rumble feature of the N64 since it was just a gimmick (my opinion, others may differ)...

N-rage input plugin is highly configurable, it has everything I need for playing, some people reported their analog or the C buttons doesn't get properly mapped but as I told you I only use the Keyboard ...

PJ 1.6.1 can be obtained from the Jabo's blog and as far as I know it doesn't come with the adware there or does it? I don't remember...

If you don't want to use the installer use innounp (Inno Setup Unpacker) to extract its files. You'll find everything in the {app} folder...

@Hatcat
I know you hate the guy for the correct reasons, but with Azimer's XAudio I still get crackles and pops sometimes or after a while of playing, with Shunyuan's the audio just stretches to keep in sync with the gameplay so I don't even notice when it happens...

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 22nd September 2015 at 03:27 AM.
  #6  
Old 22nd September 2015, 02:49 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
@Hatcat
I know you hate the guy for the correct reasons, but with Azimer's XAudio I still get crackles and pops sometimes or after a while of playing, with Shunyuan's the audio just stretches to keep in sync with the gameplay so I don't even notice when it happens...
While it's true that Shunyuan's is better than Azimer's for this particular game, i still got crackling with Shun's. Easiest way to get good audio for the game is to tweak Azimer's DS8 source a tiny bit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
Provided that your hardware is capable enough: PJ64 1.6.1 at CF=1, Glide64Final, Shunyuan's audio plugin, HatCat's MLE RSP plugin will do the trick.
Why use PJ64 1.6.1? Also, why use HatCat's MLE RSP? I'm not one to assume that newer always = better, but a lot has improved since then.
  #7  
Old 22nd September 2015, 04:22 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

It just hangs on every selfmod code on 2.X versions, yep, don't know if this is only on my end but 1.6.1 don't have this problem. Run this game on a 2.X version, after the intro song plays the game hangs on a black screen after the title logo...

HatCat's RSP just happens to perform better than the default PJ RSP on the games I tested so I just stick to it if there is no problems, you can however try PJ's RSP if you see or need any speed improvements...

Quote:
While it's true that Shunyuan's is better than Azimer's for this particular game, i still got crackling with Shun's. Easiest way to get good audio for the game is to tweak Azimer's DS8 source a tiny bit.
Do you get better audio overall with your tweaked plugin or just this game? Can you please upload it so I can test it?

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 22nd September 2015 at 04:57 PM.
  #8  
Old 22nd September 2015, 05:27 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
@Hatcat
I know you hate the guy for the correct reasons,
I don't know that I would say that.

Probably I should hate him, but it's been enough years that I've all but forgotten the guy and presumed nobody even remembers his plugins at this point. Those are forgotten for other reasons, I might add.



And anyway, the point is void as Azimer is working on an open-source plugin with constant additions to ongoing experiments to tackle perfect audio with matters like what you just said, while the shun XAudio only ever changed in terms of stealing different/more code from other projects. One plugin is open-source, active and therefore alive; the other is always idle, constant and stolen code. So I see no benefit to using that.
  #9  
Old 22nd September 2015, 05:36 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Yeah, Azimer's will be better, no doubt about that, but as of know with his lastest WIP (AziAudio 0.7 IIRC) I still get pops and crackles in "all" the games I tested and it happens after a while of playing (anywhere from 5 to 40 mins) so its difficult to constantly test it...

About the "other" plugin, shame what happened, shame that he went closed source, there is no point arguing more on that for the reasons you posted above...

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 22nd September 2015 at 05:46 PM.
  #10  
Old 22nd September 2015, 09:23 PM
Notshane Notshane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
Just be happy this game is emulated.
I can already tell I am not going to be helped at all here...also, doing (...) jobs at emulating does not mean you can be cocky about it. Last I checked, Ghost Toys Castle is the most common castle where the game abruptly stops after a code is unable to be loaded after you go through several rooms in that castle.

And if, in the span of eight years, you still tell people "just be happy" then I can definitely see this game not making any further progress in the emulation effort anytime soon.

Just someone giving me a link to an emulation rig that can run this game properly would be one of the best gifts I could ever get, as nobody seems to have any real helpful information regarding the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
I personally only use N-Rage v2 2.3c with the Memory Pak selected as addon, I dont miss the rumble feature of the N64 since it was just a gimmick (my opinion, others may differ)...
Don't you think there is a way to just add another tab in N-Rage where you can just go through two pull-down menus and just have both the Memory Pak and Rumble Pak on? That seriously does not sound hard to me at all. Heck, why is the Memory Pak selectable in controller plugins, anyway?

Unless you can insert your own and save off that to be able to use in an actual Nintendo 64, that should just be a default setting in general, rather than requiring it to be in the controller plugin. That way, we really can have other peripherals and a Memory Pak at the same time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
N-rage input plugin is highly configurable, it has everything I need for playing, some people reported their analog or the C buttons doesn't get properly mapped but as I told you I only use the Keyboard ...
Yeah, well, do the world an actual favor and help those that want to use controllers instead of shoving keyboards down their throats. Not everyone wants to play with keyboards and, well, all of you need to accept that. Even most of the moderators on here just say the same thing and it bugs the hell out of me.

I partially apologize for the rude behavior, but my patience is about as thin as it will be by this point. It is even worse that the help gets more and more negative as the years go on. Surely, emulating one game is not that hard.

I see people on YouTube play it at full speed all of the time, but of course, they are abandoned accounts and either that video of them playing was their last or it was during a time range where they actually uploaded videos and responded to people. So, the only ones that did the task are not around anymore, basically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
PJ 1.6.1 can be obtained from the Jabo's blog and as far as I know it doesn't come with the adware there or does it? I don't remember...
It does.
 

Tags
assistance, goemon, plugin, problem, project 64

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.