Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 25th May 2013, 06:34 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Here's one where the height exceeds the width.
I checked on Jabo's LLE RDP which has the same effect.

why is it doing that? supposed to be approximately 4:3
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25th May 2013, 01:33 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
why is it doing that? supposed to be approximately 4:3
And why do you think that?

Is Jabo's RDP also wrong as well?

In software mode it looks like that with the internal resolution forced to 320x474 which the game reported to my plugin.

Without any resolution forcing:

Almost the exact same.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25th May 2013, 01:38 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

weird, the actual game is 4:3 on the console
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25th May 2013, 01:41 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Well let me know if you can find some optimal "Emulated Width:Emulated Height" setting in Jabo's for it that exceeds the native appearance of 320 by 474 pixels angrylion's algorithm reports.

A screen capture off your actual N64 could also help.

There does seem to be some improvement with z64gl's lowres=1 on 320x240:

Though it appears not to be really 4:3 with that disproportionately sized black border at the top.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25th May 2013, 01:45 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Well let me know if you can find some optimal "Emulated Width:Emulated Height" setting in Jabo's for it that exceeds the native appearance of 320 by 474 pixels angrylion's algorithm reports.

A screen capture off your actual N64 could also help.

There does seem to be some improvement with z64gl's lowres=1 on 320x240:

Though it appears not to be really 4:3 with that disproportionately sized black border at the top.
thats better, i dont think the actual n64 has uneven borders though

i'll get you screencaps sometime
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25th May 2013, 01:51 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

It shouldn't.

The SDL raster screen is not capable of automatic stretching.
I barely found out off suanyuan that you can force stretching in SDL.

So drawing a 320x240 N64 in a 320x120 emulated screen should result in only the top half being shown, and drawing it in a 320x480 screen should result in a window twice as big as the actual part that is being drawn to, plus or minus static crap pixels shown at the bottom.

So it possibly is narrower than 4:3.

To be wider would have to mean the texture element fetching is incomplete....
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25th May 2013, 02:25 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

sounds complicated xD

I do like the idea of stretching the window automatically to fit the native resolution though
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25th May 2013, 02:42 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

First off, just to make clear on this.
I'm not interested in adding screen stretching.
I'm reluctant to add an option for full-screen-only stretch native screen to fit user's monitor.
Options for window resolutions should just be scalar coefficients of native res (1x, 2x, ... up to 8x I think).

Second, to literally interpret what you said.
I don't need to stretch anything, just change the size of the SDL render window to equal the size of the currently detected (can change in the middle of the game) native N64 resolution, then assign the Project64 window handle to the SDL window and merge the SDL video layer over the Project64 window UI.

Basically, take control of zilmar's poor, innocent Project64 UI like a mindless zombie, and give it a new name: "SDL Raster Console".
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 25th May 2013, 02:52 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

yeah, stretching was the wrong word to use, sorry
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 25th May 2013, 03:13 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Sorry to intercept this but mudlord/anybody knows what this means?
http://code.google.com/p/angrylions-.../browse/trunk/

It was mud who linked to that, but I don't know what "fptr" is or how it is different than "nocomment".

"nocomment" appears to have more of angrylion's optimizations (I could always do my own ) and so has some newer updates, but is fptr more accurate or something?

Which code base should I be learning off of?
Going to try to see if resolution issues/other issues can be fixed without going through the messy MAME cluster commits, didn't know angrylion kept that up in public.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.