Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:31 PM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default Loading Save States

Okay!! I am getting pissed pissed PISSED. I usually never go about making forum accounts to ask a question that has been answered hundreds of times before. I looked up the situation but nothing I try has worked.

This is the deal.

I have several .sra files of Ocarina of Time that I want to load into the game (100% completed files).

I made a save folder in my PJ64 folder and went into settings and made sure that the save directory was pointing in that direction.

Half the files I have downloaded are .rar (containing .sra) or just plain .sra files themselves. I've tried putting both into the folder but neither work.

I have also tried pulling down the load tab in project 64 itself to load the files but when I go into my save directory to choose one, they aren't there. Except this one .rar file which freezes the game entirely. (It's not master quest)

I've done as much research as possible but I can't get shit to work! if it helps... I'm running win7
  #2  
Old 21st June 2010, 12:51 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

sra's are not save states.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #3  
Old 21st June 2010, 01:06 AM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for not helping whatsoever. If they're not save files what is and where the hell can I find them and put them to use?
  #4  
Old 21st June 2010, 01:21 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

I did help, you just seem to execute thought via high level emulation rather than low level.

SRA = S-RAM
EEP = EEPROM
FLA = FLASH

These 3 formats are NATIVE SAVE formats.

Savestates use the .Pj.zip extension.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by squall_leonhart; 21st June 2010 at 01:24 AM.
  #5  
Old 21st June 2010, 01:32 AM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

I'm going to have to change these save states into zip format then I s'pose. When I make a save file (---> Save As) it saves as a locked zip file that contains a .sra file.
  #6  
Old 21st June 2010, 01:36 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

>.< they aren't save states.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #7  
Old 21st June 2010, 01:45 AM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Then why is it I only find save states in that file form? >.<

.zip and .pj are supposed to be the ideal save state file type. But I haven't found one OoT save that meets these requirements. I've found a few .zip but when I open it with winrar/winzip it's always holding a .sra file. <.<

I haven't been working with PJ64 for a while now and I just now for the first time want to load save files onto the game. So I'm not too familiar with the process nor the file types. Sorry about that bit

EDIT: Also, when I go into the download section of PJ64 to downloaded completed game saves they're all .sra files. I tried to put them into a .zip folder but after I compress them and open them after that, they just freeze my client. Argh.. FML

Last edited by Amicu; 21st June 2010 at 02:01 AM.
  #8  
Old 21st June 2010, 02:15 AM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

http://www.pj64-emu.com/downloads/sa.../native-saves/

Says to put the files directly into the save folder. (Have tried that...)

I don't get it. It says right here that these are native save files. Can you tell me what exactly I'm s'pose to do with this .sra file I keep downloading?

http://www.pj64-emu.com/downloads/func-startdown/89/

That's where I'm getting this .sra file.
  #9  
Old 21st June 2010, 02:22 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicu View Post
Then why is it I only find save states in that file form? >.<
You will only find SAVES, in these formats because they are the only ones that are cross compatible with various emulators.

Savestates, are usually locked to specific emulators, due to different amounts of information that is saved with the game ram.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #10  
Old 21st June 2010, 02:37 AM
Amicu Amicu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Can you show me how to make them work with Project64 1.6

Or can you tell me if there's another emulator that will run .sra right off the back? I just need some directions
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.