#1  
Old 17th February 2013, 09:57 PM
DKfanatic DKfanatic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default Improve Donkey Kong 64 emulation

Hi... I would suggest that improved support for DK 64, it is a game that never had a remake... And as you know, he still has many emulation problems as the screen size (with vertical and horizontal black bars) and other issues.

It would be very nice to play it with HD graphics, Banjo-Kazooie works well, I do not understand why the DK 64 did not, the two games use the same engine and both were developed by Rare.

Other emulators can not even run it, the Project64 is uniquely capable, it would be nice to see him get too run it on the same level of BK.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th February 2013, 10:32 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

not a valid suggestion.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2013, 11:33 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Nope, DK64 uses its own RSP graphics microcode, apart from what Banjo-Kazooie uses.

B-T never (immediately) executes ADD $zero, s1, s2 and tries to overwrite $0 like DK64 does.

I have not had a look at DK64 to see if my RSP upgrades maybe have fixed the finite geometry issue etc..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2013, 11:33 PM
et500 et500 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 113
Default

DK64 also has these borders on a real N64, to improve speed. However, of course the video plugin could remove these borders. But the PJ64 video plugin is dead and will not be improved or fixed any further as the developer stopped working on it. Therefore someone has to develop a new or improve an existing video plugin for PJ64.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:22 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 383
Default

and who the hell would do that when FatCat and MarathonMan are making it thier mission to make HLE (thus your fancy enhancements) obsolete?

Makes it kinda pointless to continue HLE if everyone will flock to LLE anyway.

Last edited by mudlord_; 18th February 2013 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:27 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

I still have some interest in HLE.

It is useful for making execution more direct and linear for cases where the hardware operation is too far away from what we can do with Intel ranging over the standard fetch-decode-execute routine.

But yes under the assumption of an infinite variety of graphics ucodes, my objective I feel should be to eliminate the use of HLE as much as possible. I want to assume the worst-case scenario after all.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:29 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 383
Default

Indeed, the idea of hires textures must die and pave the way for per pixel/cycle RDP accuracy!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:30 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
B-T never (immediately) executes ADD $zero, s1, s2 and tries to overwrite $0 like DK64 does.
Banjo-tooie does

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
I have not had a look at DK64 to see if my RSP upgrades maybe have fixed the finite geometry issue etc..
Last I checked it didn't
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:45 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

I meant to say B-K cause that was what he was talking about.
B-T I did a typo.

Tooie will overwrite $zero via SPECIAL::ADD or SPECIAL::AND, if unchecked.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th February 2013, 01:50 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
Last I checked it didn't
Most of the test plugins I gave you were speed rewrites, or DMA security rewrites, which would not fix the finite geometry segmentation bugs in DK64.

All of the opcode rewrites I have done since the last time I sent you a stable update on the other hand...

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxatax View Post
Indeed, the idea of hires textures must die and pave the way for per pixel/cycle RDP accuracy!
We get the point.

You like to accuse me of things you know clearly well I have already explained are not true (e.g. me caring to implement cycle-accuracy) because you think it will make me less likely to change my mind about implementing them.

Too bad the opposite is true. If you really don't want me to care about cycle-accuracy so much (currently where I'm at) then learn when to shut up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.