Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th December 2009, 07:19 PM
wildgoosespeeder's Avatar
wildgoosespeeder wildgoosespeeder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 156
Default N64 Adaptoid vs. USB N64 RetroPort

We all know that it is hard to find the N64 Adaptoid. I just went to one of my favorite sites at random and found a USB N64 RetroPort.

__________________
PLEASE PM ME WITH YOUR MESSENGER SCREEN NAME BEFORE ADDING ME TO YOUR BUDDY LIST OR ELSE I IGNORE THE BUDDY LIST REQUEST!

Mozilla FireFox and The Angry Video Game Nerd aren't gods.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th December 2009, 08:55 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

looks nice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th December 2009, 11:44 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

does it support PAK connectivity.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st December 2009, 06:08 PM
wildgoosespeeder's Avatar
wildgoosespeeder wildgoosespeeder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
does it support PAK connectivity.
I have no idea. I just found it and wanted to share.
__________________
PLEASE PM ME WITH YOUR MESSENGER SCREEN NAME BEFORE ADDING ME TO YOUR BUDDY LIST OR ELSE I IGNORE THE BUDDY LIST REQUEST!

Mozilla FireFox and The Angry Video Game Nerd aren't gods.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th January 2010, 01:37 PM
RchUncleSkeleton RchUncleSkeleton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default

there's another n64 usb adapter I found about a week ago...it has two controller ports on one usb. Introducing the Mayflash N64 USB Adapter.



available at
www.play-asia.com
and
www.vpgames.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th January 2010, 02:42 PM
Spiros Spiros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default

the retrozone one does plan to add atleast rumble pak support and i think memory pak support aswell. but the mayflash one does not, and also i think ive read that it doesnt have the analog stick sensitivity right. anyone actually have one?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th January 2010, 03:03 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

the mayflash adapters are considered STFAway
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th January 2010, 12:08 PM
damik damik is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I've got two of these retroport over a month ago.

Actually it does work for what it is supposed to but nothing more. No memory or rumble pak, yet.

The autor have release a beta app to try to implement them. I did try it and got a log which seemed to differ depending on the pak I was using. He have requested for help to code a driver. It might happen someday.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th January 2010, 03:33 PM
Spiros Spiros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default

but using the retroport adapters does the analog stick have the same sensitivity and feel as on the original n64?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th January 2010, 01:12 AM
damik damik is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Well that's difficult to say since my joystick is a little loose. Despite that, I'd say that the control responded fine and I didn't feel any major difference with an original N64 system.

I did use N-Rage Direct Input plugins with default config.
Hope it'll help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.