Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th September 2019, 02:55 PM
xHesham xHesham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default Project 64 failed to find filename in 7z file

I'm trying to play mario 64 but every time I'm trying to run it it says "Failed to find filename in 7z file" I'm sure it's unzipped and I tried downloading 7z and converting the rom to 7z and it still didn't work, help anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th September 2019, 12:46 AM
Melchior's Avatar
Melchior Melchior is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 220
Default

PJ64 does not read ROMs in archives as far as I know..
unzip or un-7zip them and put them in the correct ROMS folder inside the PJ64 folder...
__________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX, SSE1-4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v436.30
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES

My PJ64 setup:
EXE : v2.4.0.1056
GFX : Project64-Video (v2.2.0.1056)
SPU : AziAudioNEW (v0.70)(2017-09-14)
INPUT : NRage(v2.5.3.1056)
RSP : RSP (v1.7.4.1056)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st September 2019, 07:50 AM
xHesham xHesham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default

sorry for the late reply but the file is already unzipped I click Open ROM and I chose the mario 64 ROM but I get this error message "Failed to find filename in 7z file"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2019, 05:12 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,918
Default

What is the file extension?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd September 2019, 09:50 AM
xHesham xHesham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default

hope this helps

it says .z64 don't know what that means
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd September 2019, 11:57 AM
Melchior's Avatar
Melchior Melchior is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 220
Default

.z64, .n64, and .v64 are all good ROM file extensions.. that I have on ROMS that work...

btw u can use the edit button and don't need to delete your messages..

plus what version of PJ64 and plugins are u using?
__________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX, SSE1-4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v436.30
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES

My PJ64 setup:
EXE : v2.4.0.1056
GFX : Project64-Video (v2.2.0.1056)
SPU : AziAudioNEW (v0.70)(2017-09-14)
INPUT : NRage(v2.5.3.1056)
RSP : RSP (v1.7.4.1056)

Last edited by Melchior; 23rd September 2019 at 11:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2019, 12:36 PM
xHesham xHesham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default

version 2.3.2.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd September 2019, 04:17 PM
Melchior's Avatar
Melchior Melchior is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 220
Default

ok... so your using the non-beta release...
switch to beta its stable enough that I haven't had issues... and test again...
backup your files first...
__________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX, SSE1-4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v436.30
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES

My PJ64 setup:
EXE : v2.4.0.1056
GFX : Project64-Video (v2.2.0.1056)
SPU : AziAudioNEW (v0.70)(2017-09-14)
INPUT : NRage(v2.5.3.1056)
RSP : RSP (v1.7.4.1056)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd September 2019, 04:34 PM
xHesham xHesham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default

I'll try and if it works I'll edit this post
Update: did not work, could there be missing files I need to download and thats why it's not working?

Last edited by xHesham; 23rd September 2019 at 04:37 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd September 2019, 04:40 PM
Melchior's Avatar
Melchior Melchior is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 220
Unhappy

no the emulator is self contained...
could be corrupt ROMs
__________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX, SSE1-4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v436.30
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES

My PJ64 setup:
EXE : v2.4.0.1056
GFX : Project64-Video (v2.2.0.1056)
SPU : AziAudioNEW (v0.70)(2017-09-14)
INPUT : NRage(v2.5.3.1056)
RSP : RSP (v1.7.4.1056)

Last edited by Melchior; 23rd September 2019 at 04:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.