#1  
Old 29th April 2013, 12:18 AM
kylamon1 kylamon1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default Display controller onscreen

Hey Ive been looking online for a few days. How do you get an image of an N64 controller with inputs to appear onscreen?



Thats what I want. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2013, 12:27 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 383
Default

i thought emulators were banned for speedruns......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2013, 12:30 AM
kylamon1 kylamon1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default

They are, but I still want it for my stream...Im not WR(or even good) pace so Im in no danger of getting called out on my runs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th April 2013, 01:15 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,938
Default

I dunno why they are banned since the fastest TAS for SM64 was also shown on a real n64...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th April 2013, 02:17 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
I dunno why they are banned since the fastest TAS for SM64 was also shown on a real n64...
Weird. Didn't know they could do it on real hardware. What I don't get about TAS is that they recommend using only the most accurate emulators (more or less) to take advantage of in-game glitches and exploits. What I find ironic is using an emulator that pretty much is a 1:1 copy of a real console to exploit said glitches. Wouldn't a mostly-accurate emulator (like Snes9x) be sufficient for such tests? Off topic, I know, but I thought it was ironically hilarious.\

Using an emulator to accurately replicate exploits....makes sense to me.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th December 2013, 01:21 AM
nikoflame nikoflame is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default

revive this thread? I'd love to know how to do this, as well. I've been searching for months. Am I looking in the wrong places? I really want to be able to have the controller input display.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th December 2013, 02:25 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Why would anyone want to search for information like this?

Just look at the OP of this thread. The picture is obviously Photoshopped or something, fake, and unimaginably unrealistic.

If you really want to see a N64 controller up on your screen while pressing a button in the middle of a game, grab your controller and put it up on the screen. You want something? Go out and take care of it.

Don't insist devs to implement something so trivial.

Besides, only the graphics plugin can control what blits onto the emulator display window's screen, which is unrelated to controller input. So not only is this pointless; it's impossible.
I use my keyboard for everything instead of these fancy-ass excessiveness-es. How do you think I feel? Just great!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th December 2013, 02:38 AM
nikoflame nikoflame is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default

I see lots of people using this, to include Siglemic. I don't know why you think it's impossible.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th December 2013, 03:09 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Oh, that was a YouTube screenshot in the OP?


Christ. Should have known.

Well if you're so inspired by his showing off the controller button mashing next to the emulation screen while mashing the buttons real-time, why not ask him how he thinks he's doing it?

Because I know that you can NOT securely implement this in either the controller or graphics plugins. You would have to hack it in to the main emulator source code, which would contradict the Project64 2.0 master branch. Either way, it's still useless. If I want to know whether or not I hit the right button on my keyboard, I would see how the game reacts, not redundantly create some controller image to pop up next to my screen like some damn Flash porn advertisement echoing what I pressed. Emulate games, not viruses.

Sorry, but that's just how I think of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controllers, plugins

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.