#1  
Old 29th September 2012, 09:09 AM
user535674 user535674 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Exclamation File Verification

The download link for project 64 (1.6) doesn't seem to be working so i got a download for the installer via google. I ran the installer in a vm and i just wanted to make sure that it's a legit copy before i actually transfer it over to my main computer. Could someone please post the valid md5 has of the Project64.exe for version 1.6?

I did a quick check on mine and i got "be5961ce4de0b363069910edb897498b"

EDIT:

No responses yet, I'm wondering if people who read this even know how to get a MD5 hash or what it is...

If you need help finding the MD5 hash, you can go to https://www.virustotal.com/ and scan your Project64.exe (located under "C:\Program Files\Project64 1.6\"). When it's done, you will see a SHA256 hash, there should be a little arrow under it to show the MD5 hash, if you can't find it then just post the SHA256 hash .

Last edited by user535674; 29th September 2012 at 09:14 PM. Reason: Helping people who don't understand :P
  #2  
Old 30th September 2012, 02:16 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,942
Default

I'd say there is a 99% change you got the legit one but...

*insert I thought I had the installer here*
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #3  
Old 30th September 2012, 02:27 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

be5961ce4de0b363069910edb897498b
Hey, nice, doesn't require an installer.


By the way, there's basically no way the EXE file you have is corrupt if you can run it and all the features are working. Sure you might have run the installer in a virtual environment, but if that in itself wasn't emulated correctly I think that would be way among other problems you'd notice.
  #4  
Old 30th September 2012, 12:26 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,942
Default

I think he was more worried about viruses :3
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #5  
Old 30th September 2012, 12:30 PM
user535674 user535674 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs View Post
be5961ce4de0b363069910edb897498b
Hey, nice, doesn't require an installer.


By the way, there's basically no way the EXE file you have is corrupt if you can run it and all the features are working. Sure you might have run the installer in a virtual environment, but if that in itself wasn't emulated correctly I think that would be way among other problems you'd notice.
Thanks for confirming but i think you misread o_O

The file i actually downloaded was an installer, it made me install Project64 to my program files directory

I'm not really sure where you got the corrupt part lol, the reason i was asking for the md5 hash is because just wanted to ensure the main EXE was legit and wasn't modified at all.

I'm very cautious of applications i download.
  #6  
Old 30th September 2012, 02:08 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

No need, just grab it's guts from a zip.
__________________
  #7  
Old 30th September 2012, 04:29 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Doesn't seem like I misread.

Basically you were worried the EXE was corrupt, like I said.

That doesn't necessarily mean it was unintentionally modified by some force of nature; it could still have been intentional due to where else you could have gotten the 1.6 installer from.

And yep, by default (but this is customizable) Project64 is installed to the Program Files folder group.
That was where I checked my version of the exe on the site you linked.

Granted, with the official installer, it's not possible that it's hacked or has a virus, by definition, since you looked somewhere else to get it.

Last edited by HatCat; 30th September 2012 at 04:31 PM.
 

Tags
hash, help me, md5, project64, verify

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.