#271  
Old 12th July 2013, 05:54 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevalierBlanc View Post
Just to let you know that i think you guys are freaking asweome at sound engineering, programming


and i was asking myself why both of you alpha tester dont have a sound card lol
its rare to find people without a sound card in pc
I am not freaking asweome at sound engineering, I just learned how to write a audio plugin from DirectSound and XAudio2 tutorials.

if you like OpenAL so much and have a Creative sound card, why not you write an audio plugin using OpenAL and share with others.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
  #272  
Old 12th July 2013, 05:56 PM
FIX94 FIX94 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Hi, thanks for this plugin, it does a very fine job for me
Just noticed one game, super smash bros ntsc, runs too fast in pj64 1.6, it should be on 60fps but I get 68fps for whatever reason, if I enable the frame limiter of pj64 I get 60fps but then the audio starts crackling, without the limiter the audio is just fine, just the game itself is a little bit too fast. Running pj64 on a windows 7 64bit with 4gb ram, using the 1.7.1u7 audio plugin, currently with dsound, tried xaudio2 as well as the older plugin versions, always with the same result.
Keep up the good work!
  #273  
Old 12th July 2013, 06:23 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FIX94 View Post
Hi, thanks for this plugin, it does a very fine job for me
Just noticed one game, super smash bros ntsc, runs too fast in pj64 1.6, it should be on 60fps but I get 68fps for whatever reason, if I enable the frame limiter of pj64 I get 60fps but then the audio starts crackling, without the limiter the audio is just fine, just the game itself is a little bit too fast. Running pj64 on a windows 7 64bit with 4gb ram, using the 1.7.1u7 audio plugin, currently with dsound, tried xaudio2 as well as the older plugin versions, always with the same result.
Keep up the good work!
Thanks, I just tested with Pj64 1.6.1 on my computer and has the same result as you.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
  #274  
Old 12th July 2013, 07:33 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

v1.7.1u8 released.

* Fix Super Smash Bros sound delay for PJ64 2.x
* Fix Super Smash Bros sound crackles for PJ64 1.6
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
  #275  
Old 13th July 2013, 03:04 AM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
I found the minor artifact (static noise) might be caused by sound record device.

In your audio records (also in my audio records), there are silence/whirring not only in the beginning but actually always there, even no audio output at all.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-k...-no/record.jpg

But if I disable the audio record device, then the silence/whirring disappears, (the audio is record with stereo mixer).

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-L...no/record2.png

DKR - 48 KHz with sound record device disabled
The whirring at the start of the audio is still there, it's just less noticeable:



The audio itself has lower volume than your previous audio. I suppose disabling the audio record device disabled all the audio enhancements (volume, effects, equalizer). But let's not focus on that. The whirring is not the problem, the crackling in the audio is. BTW, the last audio you provided still has crackling.

Look at the previous images I posted earlier this thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
Okay. I opened my previously isolated XAudio sample with Adobe Audition, used the "DeClicker" tool to analyze the audio...

Before: http://i.imgur.com/hJgHpUF.png
Repaired: http://i.imgur.com/SASW6E4.png

Magnified samples
Before: http://i.imgur.com/HRefPo6.png
Repaired: http://i.imgur.com/Wc8Pi9n.png

Before: http://i.imgur.com/Tv8XhFA.png
Repaired: http://i.imgur.com/bVHIZBA.png

Notice the weird shape in the 'before' waveform? I think that was causing the constant crackling in the audio, because the repaired audio sounds flawless.

EDIT: I did the same test with the DirectSound sample and I can confirm that it doesn't have these anomalies.
So there it is. Buffer underrun? Bug in the audio streaming code? Maybe it's a bug in the API itself. I dunno, because this is the first XAudio plugin I've ever tested

Is there a possibility of you releasing a experimental fix? Although you can't hear the problem, you can take a guess and try to fix it. Then I'll report the results. Maybe consider adding a buffer slider modifier to the plugin.
  #276  
Old 13th July 2013, 03:12 AM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

Also, I found another bug... in "A Bug's Life (U)". The audio is slower than the game itself. Disable the speed limiter and you'll get perfect audio, but the game will run a lot faster. You need to disable Fixed Audio Timing, otherwise the audio will be fine, but the gameplay will be very choppy.
  #277  
Old 13th July 2013, 04:06 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
So there it is. Buffer underrun? Bug in the audio streaming code? Maybe it's a bug in the API itself. I dunno, because this is the first XAudio plugin I've ever tested

Is there a possibility of you releasing a experimental fix? Although you can't hear the problem, you can take a guess and try to fix it. Then I'll report the results. Maybe consider adding a buffer slider modifier to the plugin.
No, not buffer underrun, still have sound data in cache not played yet.

The audio crackles in your picture are small in size, less than 1 ~ 2 samples.

__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit

Last edited by shunyuan; 13th July 2013 at 08:07 AM. Reason: fix typo
  #278  
Old 13th July 2013, 04:12 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

v1.7.1u9 released

* Fix audio slow down for A Bug's Life.
* Add DirectSound hardware acceleration option UI
(default is off, for Vista and Win7 you need ALchemy, 3D SoundBack or Xear3D EX to take advantage this feature)
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
  #279  
Old 13th July 2013, 04:56 AM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
No, not buffer underrun, still have sound data in cache not played yet.

The audio crackles in your picture is small in size, less then 1 ~ 2 samples only.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-C...1-no/DKR64.png
Weird. I wonder what's causing the sound crackles then. That means no solution is possible?


EDIT: Also, thanks for fixin' that bug in A Bug's Life... Get it?
I'll get out right now.

Last edited by oddMLan; 13th July 2013 at 05:04 AM.
  #280  
Old 13th July 2013, 08:19 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
Weird. I wonder what's causing the sound crackles then. That means no solution is possible?


EDIT: Also, thanks for fixin' that bug in A Bug's Life... Get it?
I'll get out right now.
No, it means I still can't find the reason causes the sound crackles.

But in this plugin all sound drivers use the same code in base class for data management, so the audio data that received and playbacked should be the same. But the timing maybe a little different due different API latencies.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.