Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 21st November 2010, 03:06 AM
RadeonUser's Avatar
RadeonUser RadeonUser is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
You can either seek a patch for Project64 "large address aware" which squall knows about, or you can delete textures that you don't use from the pak to prevent crashing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by helltoast View Post
For example, I tried to load OOT's logo, a single letter "A" in the hires_texture folder, and everything went fine, until I pressed start, then it crashed.
o_O How does a single texture eat up 2GB worth of addressing space?
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
Ram: 4GB DDR2
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4770
Sound Card: On-Board Realtek ALC889A
  #12  
Old 21st November 2010, 09:48 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

I don't see any indication that it did. If he was able to interact with the game before it crashed by pressing Start then something else had to have crashed it.

That time was different, though, because he said he had just the letter "A" in the textures folder. He said in the first post that he tried loading a texture pack.
  #13  
Old 22nd November 2010, 12:54 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadeonUser View Post
o_O How does a single texture eat up 2GB worth of addressing space?
it really shouldn't :P
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #14  
Old 22nd November 2010, 02:39 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

If every texture in the Zelda Community retexture were that big, the retexture itself would probably be like, petabytes in size.

Anyway I'm sure he did a single-texture retexture test to see if it would still crash without the entire pack still installed, weird that it crashed after pressing Start though.
  #15  
Old 24th November 2010, 03:15 PM
helltoast helltoast is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
If every texture in the Zelda Community retexture were that big, the retexture itself would probably be like, petabytes in size.

Anyway I'm sure he did a single-texture retexture test to see if it would still crash without the entire pack still installed, weird that it crashed after pressing Start though.
This is pretty much what I did, but even when I loaded a single texture the thing crashed, so I'm sure it's not a size-related issue. P64 crashed when I pressed start because it was supposed to show the letter "A" that I tried to load... Any more ideas?
  #16  
Old 25th November 2010, 05:29 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

In that case, does it crash without loading any replacement textures at all? If the hires_texture folder is completely empty or nonexistent?
  #17  
Old 26th November 2010, 06:47 PM
helltoast helltoast is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
In that case, does it crash without loading any replacement textures at all? If the hires_texture folder is completely empty or nonexistent?
Nope, it works fine, even when I patch the plugin to load shaders. It only crashes when I try to load a texture, actually, it only crashes when the texture shows up in the game.
  #18  
Old 26th November 2010, 06:52 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

IIRC it's possible for 24-bit RGB PNG maps to really mess up a game if they're loaded as 32 b/px into the game. If you're sure that this happens with any texture and all and not just specific files then what if you use RiceVideo 6.1.0 or 6.1.1 beta 10 to load the texture in replacement?
  #19  
Old 29th November 2010, 06:20 PM
helltoast helltoast is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Yeap, it happens with any texture I try to load. I tried to patch 6.1.1 but it didn't work, if you can link me 6.1.0 I can try the patch it, too.

The problem is that I can't find a plugin that can be patched to load shaders AND textures.
  #20  
Old 29th November 2010, 11:29 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

mudlord kinda messed around in the plugin afaik. He did fix OpenGL rendering in RiceVideo but mostly made featuristic changes like the retexturing system.

Mirrored RiceVideo 6.1.0 here.
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showpost.php?p=15078
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.