Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Site News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 4th March 2013, 04:39 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
if you turn off the speed limiter then the recompiler should be faster, should be like double the speed.

A recompiler still needs to compile which is where you might be seeing the slow down. Try disabling the advanced block linking, that requires even more time in compiling.
The recompiler in 1.6 starts games (and levels, movies, cutscenes) a whole lot faster than in 2.0

and no, not really at all. not even using fps limiter, ABL, faststart/ cache etc and games are still sluggish to start with the 2.0 recompiler

1.7 is faster than 2.0!
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th March 2013, 11:50 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
The recompiler in 1.6 starts games (and levels, movies, cutscenes) a whole lot faster than in 2.0

and no, not really at all. not even using fps limiter, ABL, faststart/ cache etc and games are still sluggish to start with the 2.0 recompiler

1.7 is faster than 2.0!
what about after starting/loading?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th March 2013, 12:38 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

choppy first few seconds after loading a profile in MM
same with Zelda64, and when entering dungeons.

Kirby64 also choppy and stuttery

Honestly, i might just change to the interpreter.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th March 2013, 04:43 PM
xQuarkDS9x's Avatar
xQuarkDS9x xQuarkDS9x is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
choppy first few seconds after loading a profile in MM
same with Zelda64, and when entering dungeons.

Kirby64 also choppy and stuttery

Honestly, i might just change to the interpreter.
That's odd I've been playing OoT v1.0 with this new release and the only choppyness I had was in bringing up the start menu at first in OoT but afterwards it was fine due in part because i'm using a texture pack.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th March 2013, 06:02 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

has nothing to do with the texture pack

the recompiler cache is getting slapped around like a bitch and left bruised and bleeding.

and if you run uncapped, you'll see it, since the interpreter will run far faster than the recompiler
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 4th March 2013, 06:31 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
has nothing to do with the texture pack

the recompiler cache is getting slapped around like a bitch and left bruised and bleeding.

and if you run uncapped, you'll see it, since the interpreter will run far faster than the recompiler
if you turn off frame limitor, do you see the interpreter still run faster then the recompiler ?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 4th March 2013, 07:28 PM
xQuarkDS9x's Avatar
xQuarkDS9x xQuarkDS9x is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
has nothing to do with the texture pack

the recompiler cache is getting slapped around like a bitch and left bruised and bleeding.

and if you run uncapped, you'll see it, since the interpreter will run far faster than the recompiler
I just tried running OoT again this time uncapped with Interpreter and it was fluctuating around 100-120 VI/s. However when I tried again with recompiler it was around 220-270 VI/s. Unless i'm testing this wrong recompiler here on my machine at least seems faster then interpreter.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 4th March 2013, 07:36 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

i was referring to the amount of time you sit on a blackscreen or hung pause subscreen when uncapped, not actual vi's.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 4th March 2013, 07:38 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
if you turn off frame limitor, do you see the interpreter still run faster then the recompiler ?
in golden eye and majora's mask, the frame limitor, and audio sync settings don't change a thing

goldeneye starts faster with fastsp disabled, but the missions are still alot longer to load.

on majora's mask and zelda64, the opening scenes, and subscreens still take a lot longer under the recompiler.

I shall record it later after i get some sleep.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30th March 2013, 10:53 PM
elbeto57 elbeto57 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Im not been here for a loooooooooooooooong time, so were i can get the 2.0 or newst release?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.